Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-15-2012, 10:49 AM   #1

Cargo carrier?

I am new to rving and would appreciate any feedback. I have a 31ft jayco greyhawk with a rubber roof and considering installing a roof top cargo carrier on top for extra storage. Is this a bad idea?

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-15-2012, 12:44 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
I don't think I'd put anything like that on a rubber roof, but that's just me. How much "stuff" are you planning to carry up there?

SarahW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 01:03 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Personally, I would not punch any more holes than necessary on an RV roof.

Additionally, what about the weight?

Ken
Old 04-15-2012, 01:35 PM   #4

In addition to the issues noted above, how would it be secured and you can't add much height or you'll be too tall.