Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2011, 06:51 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
JBDISCOVERY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 453
Cheater cord

Members:
A question:Have any of you used a "cheater cord" to connect to a RV park electrical panel? Are there serious problems with the use of this cord? The information on the cord states that it will connect two 30 amp sources to a 50 amp coach power cord. Or, a 30 amp and a 20 amp source with an adapter to the 50 amp coach cord.
Please advise, I am trying to solve a problem with burning out the 30 amp cord plug. I have no problem within the coach with the electric power, just the problem with the power cord.
Regards.
JB
__________________

__________________
JBDISCOVERY is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-10-2011, 06:57 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ramblin's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Ford Super Duty Owner
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,253
I have used a 2x30 to 50 cheater, no problems.
__________________

__________________
Ramblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 07:07 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 2,450
The cheater cords (boxes) allow you to connect any combination of plugs. However, if any of the circuits has a GFI breaker you will not be able to use that connection as it will immediately trip that breaker leaving you with no power at all. 2 - 30 amp circuits work best with this kind of a setup. What you need to consider is what are you hoping to accomplish with this setup? A 50 amp circuit provides 100 amp service to your coach. A cheater box will provide up to 30 amps to each leg or your coach or a total of 60 amps. A 30 amp "dog bone" connected to your 50 amp power cord will provide a total of 30 amps to all circuits.
__________________
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 07:12 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,314
Hi JBDISCOVERY,
I have used a cheater box without any problems. Some will say the GFI circuit, in the coach, will not work with a cheater box. I have not experienced this.

As to the statement that you are burning out the electric cord. My assumption is you are melting the 30 to 50 AMP adapter. This means you are drawing too much power over a sustained period of time. Is it possible to reduce your power consumption?

There is another consideration. For a cheater box to be successful, the source power must come from two separate circuits (breakers). Just plugging the cheater box input plugs into different outlets at the site pedestal, most likely, will not work. All those outlets usually are connected to the same input source (breaker).
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 07:31 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
I would recommend you save your money.. Of all the parks I've beein in I have one where it works, One where it might work if I ever get the right adaper and sight and one where it works... Only during part of the year (Manager will toss you out if you use one during most of the year, no refund)

In most all parks they violate the rules.

As Bill and others have said, If you use a 50 and a 20 amp outlet, the 20 amp, by code, should be a GFCI (one park I park at the 20 amp has a 30 amp breaker and is old enough to be "Grandfathered" out of the GFCI requriement)

If you use 2 30 amp outlets you are taking up two sites.

There used to be a web page www.psrv.net. That device DOES work.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 07:40 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
RustyJC's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cypress, Texas USA
Posts: 8,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryKD View Post
Hi JBDISCOVERY,
Some will say the GFI circuit, in the coach, will not work with a cheater box. I have not experienced this.
It's not the GFCI in the coach that'll give problems, it's the 20 amp GFCI-protected outlet in the campground shore power box that will trip.

Rusty
__________________
2016 Ram Longhorn 3500 Dually 4x4 CCLB, 385/900 Cummins, Aisin AS69RC, 4.10
2014.5 DRV Mobile Suites 38RSSA #6972
Come join us on a TEXAS BOOMERS rally!
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 08:43 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,686
If a burned plug is your concern, this is becomes more common as the 30A outlet ages. The receptacle prongs heat-up from prolonged high amperage draw and lose their spring tension. Now you come along, plug into a worn-out receptacle and this connection heats up quickly and remains so until you leave. This loose connection creates even more heat, which burns your cord plug.
My solution is to replace the make plug every time I notice the prongs blackened. I also notify the CG management that the worn receptacle is costing them more money as well.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 09:09 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,246
I have found a number of 30 amp outlets in poor shape. With the pedestal breaker off, I use a small screw driver to push the outlet's metal contacts closer together for a firmer contact. I then plug and unplug about five times to clean the contacts on both the outlet and my plug.

If the site next door is vacant, I will also try its outlet to see if it is tighter. If so, I use it. So far, I haven't been called out for doing this.
__________________
2008 Itasca Meridian 37H & 2015 Flagstaff T12RBST
2011 & 2012 Len & Pat's "One lap of America"
27K miles & 41 states in 13 months - Woo Woo
Yellowstone Lake 6-1-2012
bluepill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 09:19 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Iron Man's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,051
I recommend you get a cheater box. I have used ours 5 or 6 times always during the summer, on all of the the campround told me if I had a cheater box use it. It was nice being able to use 2 ac's and not worry about the power. The extra 30 amps came in handy. We were also able to use our 220 volt dryer.
__________________
John, Pam, Nicholas, Aria
NKK 16073L
2007 Essex 4502
2015 GMC Seirra
Iron Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 09:47 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
JBDISCOVERY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 453
Cheater cord

Thanks to all of you who have responded. My problem is what RAY,IN spoke to: the burned cord plug. I like his answer which is what I have had to do in the past. The "CHEATER" might work based upon the reponses from you, but I will continue to clean the lugs, and replace when I have to.
Thanks. Really appreciate the responses and the support of IRV2 members.
Regards
JB
__________________
JBDISCOVERY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 09:52 AM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,062
The Cheater won't really do anything to solve your burning problem anyway. It just moves the burn to the cheaper plug.

BTW, I have a cheater and use it in appropriate circumstances, e.g. parking in a friend's driveway with no 30 or 50A outlet available, or using the twin 30A outlets I have at home. Using one in an RV park is rarely useful and most often prohibited.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 03:18 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 181
We found a couple of state parks in GA that had 2 30 amp receptacles and a 20 amp receptacle in the power box. At the3 time we had a 30 amp coach so did not matter to us.
__________________
"A bad day camping is better than a good day of work"
tvman44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 09:55 PM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,062
Indeed, we used the twin 30A outlets at Georgia Veterans State Park just two weeks ago. A few of their long sites have twin 30A outlets instead of 50/30. I think they were set up to be double sites originally. But that's the only RV park I have ever found equipped like that.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 11:54 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 181
Georgia Veterans State Park is one I was thinking about, can't remember the name of the other we stayed at.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary RVRoamer View Post
Indeed, we used the twin 30A outlets at Georgia Veterans State Park just two weeks ago. A few of their long sites have twin 30A outlets instead of 50/30. I think they were set up to be double sites originally. But that's the only RV park I have ever found equipped like that.
__________________

__________________
"A bad day camping is better than a good day of work"
tvman44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power cord stuck, please help! charlie.b iRV2.com General Discussion 5 09-06-2011 07:43 AM
Glendinning reel 50-amp cord slipping Snuggery Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 4 05-20-2011 09:23 AM
Umbilical Cord Maintenance DriVer Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 3 03-25-2011 06:38 PM
Tips from a cord replacement on a day/night shade SargeW MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 06-11-2007 06:53 PM
Electrical Cord Plug Ends - Help Trillium Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics 15 03-12-2007 11:03 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.