Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-15-2019, 07:56 PM   #1

Converter/Inverter Doubt

Hi, I am new to RVing and recently had my first major issue to resolve.

My class C RV uses 2 deep cycle batteries (they are still good) which I noticed were not charging on my last trip. When I got back home, I took the batteries out to inspect the converter (Intel 9100 45 amp) and the tip of the positive terminal was melted where it connects to the converter. I removed the cable, cut the melted part off and when I tried to connect it back to the converter found out the screw will not tighten anymore and there is no way for me to service the converter since I would have to remove all the rivets in order to open it (rather not try my luck). A friend of mine tested it with a Voltmeter (we plugged it to shore power) and he said power was oscillating and could not confirm if it was working properly. To make things simpler, I decided to replace it and noticed a big price difference between a 30 amp and 45 amp converter. I am curious to know if I can downgrade to a 30 amp converter and I'd like to add that my RV uses a Cen-tech (1500watt continuous/3000watt peak) inverter. Not sure there is any other relevant information I need to provide in order to find out where to go from here. If anybody can shed some light on this subject, I'd appreciate it. Thanks!
Peter C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!