Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-29-2012, 05:36 PM   #1

cost of ownership

Obviously I am new to the R.V. world. I have started what I expect to be a year long or longer education and have found this site to be a wonderful treasure chest. I have done some searches but this is one big site with a lot of differing opinions.

I have a long boating background and you will find the same diversification in opinions and information but there is a commonly agreed formula to assess general costs of ownership and was wondering if it applies to the R.V. world.

1. Figure 10% of purchase price per year in maintenance for a well maintained unit.

2. Cost of ownership goes up expodentially not linearly as the length/size increase.

3. For new add 10-20% of purchase price for outfitting to make it functional/safe for long term use, 35-50% for older/pre-owned. In many circumstances buying new or near-new is the better value.

4. You can get speed, quality & low-cost but you can't get more than two together.

I ask this question because it is my experience that just because you can afford to buy something doesn't mean you can afford to own it.
Swing is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!