RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2019, 04:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Southern IN
Posts: 60
Does new AGM battery require new converter?

I am thinking of replacing my house batt. If I replace it with an AGM batt. will I need to replace the converter? I believe these batt.'s need a smart charger.
If so how do I determine what size I need?
I do not have any info. on what converter is existing in my 06 Gulf Stream, 21', 30 A service.
Any recommendations on batteries or converters are welcome.
I do hope to add some solar at some point.
__________________

__________________
2006 Gulf Stream Amerilite 21FMB
TV- 2007 Chevy Silverado 1500, 5.3 liter V8, longbed
2007 Heritage Softail Classic
RHD51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-17-2019, 04:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,330
Bet you have a 3 stage converter already. No need to replace with AGM.
__________________

__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 04:53 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by RHD51 View Post
I am thinking of replacing my house batt. If I replace it with an AGM batt. will I need to replace the converter? I believe these batt.'s need a smart charger.
If so how do I determine what size I need?
I do not have any info. on what converter is existing in my 06 Gulf Stream, 21', 30 A service.
Any recommendations on batteries or converters are welcome.
I do hope to add some solar at some point.
I guess you should find the converter and look up the info for any good advice.

It's probably ok if you don't replace the converter but get a smart charger that has an AGM setting and check the batteries once in a while.
Wbago97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 04:59 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
DGBPokes's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2010
Location: McAlester Ok
Posts: 1,751
I do not know details of your inverter. Mine has a different setting based on the battery type. It had to be changed, but that was all.
__________________
2007 Newmar KSDP. 3912
2010 Nissan Frontier SE
DGBPokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 05:04 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 40
I'm by no means expert in the matter but gained a lot of good info while working and designing 12v and 24v solar lighting systems and I will say this much: 12v DC is the same whether it's a L-ion, gel, lead-acid, AGM, etc. Unless there is a significant change in charge amperage requirements (which isn't the case unless you've added battery banks), you S/B good with your existing converter
__________________
2004 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37C
Workhorse W22 Chassis
8.1L/Allison 1000
HeresJohnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 07:10 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Clomok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 451
What do you currently have? Being a 06 and a smaller coach, Iíd say you have a single stage, look on your distribution panel and post the model #/specs. You should be fine with a 55(ish) amp model, even a 45amp should be plenty. Progressive dynamics makes a 4 stage lower unit conversion thatís really easy to install.
__________________
2012 RAM 3500 dually
06 ragen 3506 BH
Clomok is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 07:19 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Southern IN
Posts: 60
I pulled the cover off to look at converter/charger. It is mounted below the breaker/fuse panel, all in one unit. Looks like I am going to have to pull the whole thing to look for a model #. Looks fairly simple to disconnect charger/converter from fuse panel but space/size looks critical.
Just need to figure out what I have to see if necessary to change.
I believe the AGM needs a smart charger for optimum performance.
Or if I have a 3 stage charger, is it sufficient?
__________________
2006 Gulf Stream Amerilite 21FMB
TV- 2007 Chevy Silverado 1500, 5.3 liter V8, longbed
2007 Heritage Softail Classic
RHD51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 07:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Clomok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by RHD51 View Post
I pulled the cover off to look at converter/charger. It is mounted below the breaker/fuse panel, all in one unit. Looks like I am going to have to pull the whole thing to look for a model #. Looks fairly simple to disconnect charger/converter from fuse panel but space/size looks critical.

Just need to figure out what I have to see if necessary to change.

I believe the AGM needs a smart charger for optimum performance.

Or if I have a 3 stage charger, is it sufficient?


It will say the model # of the power center on the front that faces you next to the breakers. If itís a all metal door itís a pallelax distribution center.

This will work perfect for you then, you donít have to remove much, just the lower section (converter) which is held in by 2 screws.

https://www.progressivedyn.com/rv/po...r-4600-series/
__________________
2012 RAM 3500 dually
06 ragen 3506 BH
Clomok is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 08:13 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Southern IN
Posts: 60
Took a closer look at the cover and found I have an WFCO 8945.
13.6 VDC and 45 Amp.
Found Progressive Dynamics and Boondocker have direct replacement 4 stage units made to charge all types batteries. Looks like I need to go with one of these for a new AGM batt.
__________________
2006 Gulf Stream Amerilite 21FMB
TV- 2007 Chevy Silverado 1500, 5.3 liter V8, longbed
2007 Heritage Softail Classic
RHD51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 08:27 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,330
WFCO 8945 is a three stage converter...
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 05:07 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeresJohnny View Post
I'm by no means expert in the matter but gained a lot of good info while working and designing 12v and 24v solar lighting systems and I will say this much: 12v DC is the same whether it's a L-ion, gel, lead-acid, AGM, etc. Unless there is a significant change in charge amperage requirements (which isn't the case unless you've added battery banks), you S/B good with your existing converter
I stand corrected
https://www.knowyourparts.com/techni...agm-batteries/
__________________
2004 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37C
Workhorse W22 Chassis
8.1L/Allison 1000
HeresJohnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 06:36 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeresJohnny View Post
Interesting but I think the danger is actually more from the alternator on a long drive than the converter he listed @ 13.6V.
Wbago97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 07:40 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by RHD51 View Post
I am thinking of replacing my house batt. If I replace it with an AGM batt. will I need to replace the converter? I believe these batt.'s need a smart charger.

If so how do I determine what size I need?

I do not have any info. on what converter is existing in my 06 Gulf Stream, 21', 30 A service.

Any recommendations on batteries or converters are welcome.

I do hope to add some solar at some point.
What brand is your inverter?
If it's a magnum Ms series it might be programmable.
carl.swoyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 08:36 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Southern IN
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wbago97 View Post
Interesting but I think the danger is actually more from the alternator on a long drive than the converter he listed @ 13.6V.
So if I go to an AGM, I need to be concerned about the alternator over charging the battery?
My next trip will be two long days of travel to destination, How do I solve this?
__________________

__________________
2006 Gulf Stream Amerilite 21FMB
TV- 2007 Chevy Silverado 1500, 5.3 liter V8, longbed
2007 Heritage Softail Classic
RHD51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, converter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does Ford f350 with bed size of 6.5' require a sliding hitch? Jpdkmd Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 6 09-15-2015 09:26 AM
Does Michigan require a title on a truck camper? Wildbob52 Truck Camper Discussion 4 12-28-2012 06:45 PM
AGM Batteries, Are You Happy With Your AGM's? Are They The Answer? Lug_Nut Newmar Owner's Forum 36 11-25-2007 07:59 AM
Does dual LNB suppor require 2 Coax cables? RV 4 2 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 06-14-2007 04:31 AM
POLL: Does Your RV Require A Lot of Repairs? Gadget Man iRV2.com General Discussion 42 12-15-2006 03:27 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.