Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2011, 07:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 84
Duo-therm rooftop air tripping breaker

Our Front Duo-therm rooftop a/c unit (model # 600015-001, 13,500 BTU) is tripping the breaker.

I went up top and took off the shroud. fins and unit look clean, no build up. I had dw reset the breaker while I watched the a/c operate. fan comes on and after a minute or so the compressor kicks in but it seems labored.

After running a few minutes a box on the passenger side of the unit started "Cycling" kind of chugging. Not sure what this box is called

It says ESSEX 8435 128146-2844p. A google search of that showed nothing.

after the chugging the compressor stops but the fan keeps blowing. after a couple minutes the compresser kicks back in, somewhat labored again.

this cycle continues until after a few times it trips the breaker.

What should my next step be?

This is plugged into A/c with 30 amp service

thanks for any replies.
__________________

__________________
jimzz2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-25-2011, 07:08 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
RJay's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,589
What is your shore power voltage?
__________________

__________________
2007 Newmar DSDP 4023
Discovery is seeing what everyone else has seen and thinking what no one else has thought.
If you want to see what man made go East; if you want to see what God made go West.
RJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 07:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJay View Post
What is your shore power voltage?
I'm not sure, and not sure where or how to test. I might add when the rear a/c unit is running it operates fine on it's own. So I am thinking current is fine.
THe front a/c is acting up when nothing else is operating
__________________
jimzz2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 07:14 PM   #4
Member
 
squeak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Parker Az
Posts: 99
had the same problem I switched wires to a different breaker to see if ie was the ac or breaker
__________________
squeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 07:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
rvjimmy's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Almond, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,455
I guess I don't know what breaker is blowing is it in the MH or on the service pole. I also don't know if you have 2 units because you can't run both on 30 amps. Other than that I'm confused as you.
__________________
2002 Newmar Dutch Star DP3569 330 CAT - Toad Jeep Liberty, DW is the Nagivator. Work to travel and everything revolves around the price of diesel.
rvjimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 07:24 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvjimmy View Post
I guess I don't know what breaker is blowing is it in the MH or on the service pole. I also don't know if you have 2 units because you can't run both on 30 amps. Other than that I'm confused as you.
its the Motorhome breaker tripping. We do have 2 units but we are only operating this one. Other is located in the rear bedroom and is turned off, while testing this one.

We are planning a long trip in a couple weeks and are trying to make it as problem free as possible
__________________
jimzz2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 07:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: hanson ma
Posts: 206
i would be looking at the run capisator it may be bad causing high current draw either that or the compressor has failed. i would try swaping the run cap from the unit that wks ok lee
__________________
hometool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 08:00 PM   #8
D&J
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 69
The box on the side of the compressor is the current overload. It sounds to me that you either have a start cap staying in the circuit because of a bad relay or a weak run cap. I would almost bet it's a bad run cap by what you are describing, I would replace it first and then the start cap and relay. If that doesn't fix it the compressor is bad.

Denny
__________________
2013 F350 DRW 6.2 V8 4.30 gears

2003 HH 35 Premier
D&J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 08:02 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometool View Post
i would be looking at the run capisator it may be bad causing high current draw either that or the compressor has failed. i would try swaping the run cap from the unit that wks ok lee
thats a good idea to try the parts out of the other. wish I would of thought of it when I had the covers off. justbuttoned it back up for the night.

any idea what the square "essex" item is that I mentioned?

I may pick up another capacitor if the local shop has it in stock for reasonable. Would be worthwhile to have a spare in the parts bin.
__________________
jimzz2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 08:43 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by D&J View Post
The box on the side of the compressor is the current overload. It sounds to me that you either have a start cap staying in the circuit because of a bad relay or a weak run cap. I would almost bet it's a bad run cap by what you are describing, I would replace it first and then the start cap and relay. If that doesn't fix it the compressor is bad.

Denny
I am having difficulty locating the correct capacitors for my model # 600015-001.
If the price is decent I would like to replace the start and run capacitors. it's easy enough to take the covers off but I m tired of the up and down. any suggestions on a parts source?
__________________
jimzz2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 06:51 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometool View Post
i would be looking at the run capisator it may be bad causing high current draw either that or the compressor has failed. i would try swaping the run cap from the unit that wks ok lee
Ok I swapped out the capacitor (pictured with the orange and yellow wires) front a/c keeps tripping breaker shortly after it starts blowing cold air.

rear a/c works fine even after the capacitor swap. what now? we are going on vacation soon and don't like the idea of only 1 a/c in operation

thanks for any tips/suggestions
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00922.jpg
Views:	227
Size:	301.3 KB
ID:	12660  
__________________
jimzz2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 08:14 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 84
Here are a couple other pics of the capacitor I swapped. is this what I was looking for?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00923.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	305.3 KB
ID:	12661   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00927.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	245.9 KB
ID:	12662  

__________________
jimzz2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 09:39 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,712
If you are trying to run both A/C units simultaneously on a 30A power supply, you likely caused low voltage to damage the compressor(s). You may quickly determine if the compressor is damaged from low voltage with a clamp-on Ammeter to measure current draw while the compressor is running.
Was the replacement capacitor a hard-start capacitor? This helps when you are pushing the amp limit of the power supply.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 10:16 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Luv2go's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Appalachian Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,893
Try swapping the black box that the leads of the capacitor go to (along with most of the other wiring). This should be either a PTC, start relay, run cap or some combo of them. If it is bad it lets the start cap stay in the circuit when it should not be, cause the compressor motor to draw too much current and trip the breaker.

Make sure to put the wires back on exactly the same way they came off, your pictures will give you a good start at documenting this.
__________________

__________________
Stewart, Brenda and kids
2008 Newmar Canyon Star 3410
2006 Roadtrek Versatile 210
Luv2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duo therm 4 button thermostat Dan DeBruin RV Systems & Appliances 27 08-20-2015 01:55 AM
Duo Therm problems jlyon69 RV Systems & Appliances 4 07-05-2011 07:16 AM
Duo Therm 4 botton to heat pump controller Pwmcx95 RV Systems & Appliances 3 03-20-2011 06:50 PM
Duo Therm thermostat problem efstewart Newmar Owner's Forum 6 01-19-2010 12:35 PM
Duo Therm rooftop AC cycling frequently mrstevec RV Systems & Appliances 2 08-22-2009 04:38 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.