Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2018, 11:48 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Souderton Pa
Posts: 5
Electric Fireplace

I have a 2015 Holiday Rambler with hook-up for washer/dryer and fireplace both have outlets wires. I have no power to my fireplace outlet. Turned on and off breaker. Only running it off generator. Does it need the 50 connected?
__________________

waltgunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-23-2018, 12:22 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,960
The fireplace needs at least a 30 amp service. We have run ours on the generator, 50 amp and 30 amp service. You could have also tripped the inverter, so look for that reset switch also.
__________________

__________________
Mike & Charlotte
2014 Newmar Canyon Star 3610
Orange County, California
Mike and Cha is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 12:25 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
MisterT's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 4,061
the fireplace won't be wired thru the Inverter, though... it's either the circuit breaker is tripped, or the Generator breaker(s) is tripped, on the generator itself(common issue since your generator is 'running', but it's actually not providing any power).

if your inverter is still reading 'inverting' when your generator is running, then your generator is not providing power - the breaker(s) is tripped on it.
__________________
The Turners 2014 Thor Palazzo DP 33.3 35'

'14 FordFocus, BlueOx, KingTailgater2, 200w/10a SOLAR, AT&T UnlPlus int/wifi, all of continental US, ALASKA, and most of Canada...82,000+ miles
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 12:49 PM   #4
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6,196
Welcome to the forum.

It should run with the generator. Everything should run with the generator. Have you plugged something into that outlet to prove it is not hot?

If not positive the outlet is not powered do you have a remote control for the fire place?
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 05:29 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
ThePowells's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Zebulon, NC
Posts: 1,871


Welcome!
__________________
Kelly and Jerry Powell with Halo and Nash the Rat Terrorist
2017 Thor Quantum W31, Ford E-450, Onan QG4000
ThePowells is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2018, 09:36 AM   #6
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 29,669
Hi ! Welcome to IRV2! We're sure glad you joined the gang!

Since you can run it off the generator it sounds like you may be plugged into less than a 30 amp source.

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 06:14 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Souderton Pa
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike and Cha View Post
The fireplace needs at least a 30 amp service. We have run ours on the generator, 50 amp and 30 amp service. You could have also tripped the inverter, so look for that reset switch also.
I think the inverter is running, I have tv when the generator is running,
waltgunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 06:15 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Souderton Pa
Posts: 5
Thanks, I believe the inverter is working. I get tv when I run the generator.
waltgunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 06:22 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Souderton Pa
Posts: 5
I will check the generator breaker. I know the fireplace works because I plugged it into another outlet.
waltgunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 06:23 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Souderton Pa
Posts: 5
outlet is positively not powered.
waltgunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 07:16 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
DGBPokes's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2010
Location: McAlester Ok
Posts: 1,480
Our fireplace killed two outlets in our coach this winter. I looked and looked for a tripped breaker, all were good. We had a neighbor who was a part time RV Repair guy. He came over and checked everything inside, which was fine. He went next to the inverter, in addition to the switches on the front, he knew there was a small hard to see breaker on the side. That was our problem.
We were connected to good 50 amp power and weren’t using the inverter. Just a guess as to why it popped; The fireplace was on 1500 watts, the wife had turned on the convection/ microwave, and I had the Magna energy management set to 50 amps for the battery system charged.
__________________

__________________
2007 Newmar KSDP. 3912
2010 Nissan Frontier SE
DGBPokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, electric, fire, replace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Fireplace added in 2009 Georgie Boy gresults RV Systems & Appliances 6 11-18-2011 12:16 PM
Electric Fireplace Repair WarEagle2010 Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 12-26-2010 04:06 PM
Electric Fireplace BookIIRoadtrash Excel Owner's Forum 4 12-14-2008 08:06 AM
Electric Fireplace - Fire Hazard?? Don Renouf Monaco Owner's Forum 4 12-09-2008 06:55 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.