Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2015, 01:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 76
Electrical wiring for w/d

Removed the back panel of the utility area this morning. Fleetwood told me on the phone I'd definitely have plumbing connects for the w/d but they were unsure if the electric would be there. Are the capped wires in the bottom center for electric? I know I don't have a switch to cut all electric to this area like I have in the kitchen to toggle microwave/water heater. Is a switch really necessary? I understand that the w/d won't be able to be run with other appliances on my 30amp coach. Not sure if the switch serves any other purpose than a reminder. Install will happen tomorrow in the am so thoughts appreciated.
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
WriteOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-24-2015, 01:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,598
Is there a breaker labeled for washer/dryer on the panel? If so you could test the voltage on these wires and see if it is controlled by the breaker. I don't think a switch would be necessary but I would think that the washer and dryer come with a standard plug end. If so you just wire in an outlet that you could plug the washer and dryer into. Since the outlet can be isolated using the breaker you should be good to go.
__________________

__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 01:53 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
BrianGlenn's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Alberta
Posts: 913
I cannot zoom into the picture to see the capped wire connections, but I highly doubt they are for Washer or Dryer wiring.

I have only ever seen a dedicated 15 amp circuit for each of the washer and dryer (stackable units) - 2 dedicated receptacles, 2 dedicated wires, and 2 dedicated breakers in the 120V distribution panel. Combo units can use a single 15 amp circuit.

You can (and others have) wire up a new circuit any way you want - but it may not be acceptable to the electrical code, and it may be unsafe.

You were not clear if you are doing this install, or you are paying a shop to do it.

Any reputable shop will make sure the new washer/dryer is wired to code.

My thoughts,
Brian
__________________
Towr: 2007 Country Coach Allure 470 - 37 Sunset Bay Cummins 400 ISL
Toad: 2016 F150 King Ranch - 3.5L EcoBoost 4x4 Supercrew (curb weight 4,775 lbs)
Toad: SOLD 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee (yes, it has a Hemi) (curb weight 4,720 lbs)
BrianGlenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 03:57 PM   #4
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,368
I wouldn't think the manufacturer would plumb for a W/D without providing AC wiring also. JMHO
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 05:53 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,105
Quote:
I wouldn't think the manufacturer would plumb for a W/D without providing AC wiring also.
Now there is a man with either great faith in his fellow human beings or limited experience with the foibles of RV manufacturers!

Especially when even the factory rep wasn't sure!
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 12:36 AM   #6
Member
 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 76
Thanks for the thoughts and info.

Yes, I've just arrived tonight at a reputable RV outfit that will be on the job in the morning but I like to be as knowledgeable as possible when I start talking to them.

One breaker is designated for Appliances. Other breakers include one for microwave, 1 each for the A/Cs, 1 for portable appliances, 2 for receptacles. Looks like one is not designated, after accounting for the Main switch.

Will post followup.
__________________

__________________
WriteOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, electrical wiring, wiring



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Trouble Shoot Wiring for TOAD Road-Chi Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 7 01-10-2015 04:21 PM
Dingy Brake electrical hookup wiring ? Lionheart Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 7 12-03-2014 09:02 AM
1995 Triple E in dash air conditioning has stopped working, need wiring diagram. B Trevathan Class A Motorhome Discussions 8 09-09-2014 05:02 PM
Support for Wiring Harness - Chassis To Slideout Doc Hugh Class A Motorhome Discussions 5 08-20-2014 11:54 PM
Help Finding Solar Wiring DDMO Newmar Owner's Forum 21 08-20-2014 12:59 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.