Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2011, 10:00 PM   #1
Member
 
fireflymin's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Plant City,Fl
Posts: 49
Fema trailer....can I go 50 amp down to 30?

This is about my son's 28 ft. fema trailer that has a 50 amp hook up... stove is electric, ac , water heater and heater.....We are in Fla, so no real need for heat right now.....but ac and occasionally the stove...mostly microwave and ac. plus lights.....Is it okay to reduce the plug from 50 amp to 30, and still be okay.....most likely using the ac, a few lights, tv and microwave..... Hard times have forced him to use this as his home full time, in my back yard....I have the 50 amp hook up, and would like him to use my 30 amp extension that will put him at least 50 feet into my back yard, where the trailer will be more out of the neighbors line of view... This move will take place tomorrow, so immediate help is valuable.....Thanks in advance.....
__________________

__________________
fireflymin is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-25-2011, 10:07 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 29
30 amp should be fine,..... Only problem you might run into is if the compressor on the AC is running and you use the microwave, being on an extension, worst case is you'll just have to reset the breaker,.... If you need an adapter, best place is to run into walmart where the RV stuff is. I think for that setup 30amps will be fine
__________________

__________________
Matusky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 10:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
W4RLR's Avatar
 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sewanee, Tennessee
Posts: 713
Send a message via Yahoo to W4RLR
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireflymin View Post
This is about my son's 28 ft. fema trailer that has a 50 amp hook up... stove is electric, ac , water heater and heater.....We are in Fla, so no real need for heat right now.....but ac and occasionally the stove...mostly microwave and ac. plus lights.....Is it okay to reduce the plug from 50 amp to 30, and still be okay.....most likely using the ac, a few lights, tv and microwave..... Hard times have forced him to use this as his home full time, in my back yard....I have the 50 amp hook up, and would like him to use my 30 amp extension that will put him at least 50 feet into my back yard, where the trailer will be more out of the neighbors line of view... This move will take place tomorrow, so immediate help is valuable.....Thanks in advance.....
Your son has a park model, not an RV. Replace the refrigerator, water heater, furnace, and stove with RV units, and then you could make it work on 30 amps. Without replacing those items, you couldn't run the stove and the A/C, or the stove and the furnace on 30 amps. I won't even get into the issues with plumbing and holding tanks.

You would probably spend more money than the trailer is worth in doing that, though. Cheaper to run a dedicated 50 amp line if your son is going to live there full time.
__________________
SSgt. Richard L Ray, USAF (Retired) - Laura L Ray
Our second home is a vintage 1995 Jayco Eagle 277RB 'The Love Shack"
towed by a 2008 Ford F-250 Lariat Crew Cab short bed "The Green Goblin"

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
W4RLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 07:08 AM   #4
Member
 
fireflymin's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Plant City,Fl
Posts: 49
Fema trailer issue.....

I know that the stove and fridge are all standard house type appliances... The main thing would be using the ac and microwave at the same time, but in my way of thinking, I can do that with my mh, which is a 30 amp rig. So I was thinking it wouldn't hurt anything to run off just the 30amp extention cord. I do have the 50 hook up, but the outlet is in my front yard and I just had my friends leave after a 3 month stay, with a 40 footer hooked up out there; my lawn is a mess, and it's nice to have a view from inside my house. I have the extension cord, and cannot afford to spend the money to bring the outlet to a pole in the backyard at this time. So I figured this was my best option for the time being... Because I am relatively new to this; thought I'd ask for imput from you all. Thanks again!
__________________
fireflymin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 07:40 AM   #5
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
Better to bite the bullet and purchase that 50 amp extension cord.

30 amps is cutting your incoming power to one third. While that can marginally work with a motorhome with a good power management system, that park model trailer doesn't have any power management and needs every watt of that 50 amp power.
__________________
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 07:48 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,060
Check the stove to see if it is 110 or 220. If 220 it will not work on 30 amp which is 110.
__________________
bldrbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:58 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,832
I agree with the advice about the stove.. Good chance it's a standard house model 240 volt and will not work on 30 amps period.

Of course there are ways around that.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 06:35 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
More than likely the stove is 240 VAC and will not operate on 120 volt 30 amp service. I think yo will need a 50 amp service to plug in to.

ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 10:09 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Texas Bubba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Rio Grande Valley, Texas
Posts: 125
You can get a 50 amp extension, similar to the 30 amp you already have. Would be much cheaper and safer that working with the 30 you have now. RV dealer or Camping World will have what you need. Otherwise your looking at "issues".
__________________
Bubba
2001 40' Beaver Thunder
2007 Chevy Silverado
Texas Bubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 03:06 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,358
You asked the question 50 to 30 amps?
Answer; NO
__________________
melvonnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 04:18 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: where its warmmmmm
Posts: 811
If you run that extension cord over 15-20 foot, I hope u get a really heavy duty cord.
__________________
mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 11:42 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,713
I fully agree with these replies:

07-26-2011 07:35 PM TXiceman More than likely the stove is 240 VAC and will not operate on 120 volt 30 amp service. I think yo will need a 50 amp service to plug in to.

ken 07-26-2011 10:58 AM wa8yxm I agree with the advice about the stove.. Good chance it's a standard house model 240 volt and will not work on 30 amps period.

Of course there are ways around that. 07-26-2011 08:48 AM bldrbob Check the stove to see if it is 110 or 220. If 220 it will not work on 30 amp which is 110.
-----------------------------------------------
If the trailer does not have holding tanks, do you have a solution to connecting to your sewer system?
__________________

__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 AMP Considerations for using Both AC units SPICoaster RV Systems & Appliances 38 08-05-2011 11:37 AM
50 amp service hassels. TEDDE Monaco Owner's Forum 29 05-24-2011 04:06 PM
50 amp to 30 amp to 20 amp?? fansill MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 05-15-2011 02:36 AM
30/20 amp to 50 amp adapter soonerdave RV Systems & Appliances 21 04-02-2009 02:23 PM
Trailer tips partsman01 Travel Trailer Discussion 1 04-01-2008 07:12 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.