Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2016, 11:45 AM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Generator and 50a service


New guy here, so apologies in advance if this is in the wrong place or has previously been asked. I tried search without any luck.

We are upgrading campers (more details below) and my question is if it is possible to use the generator I own now to run a single AC in our new camper.

My current generator is a portable 3500/4000w with a standard 20a and a 30a RV receptacle.

This was perfect to run the AC and a few odds and ends in our Cheorkee GreyWolf 23DBH TT. In fact, it would run everything except the AC and microwave at the same time. Really the only times we would use it was on road days we might pull off for lunch or a break at a rest stop or truck stop.

But we are in the process of closing the deal in the next week for a Heartland North Trail 33BKSS. The new TT has 50a service and we are having a 2nd 13500 AC added to the existing primary 15000 AC. I think wattage wise I'd be fine to run the 15K on the generator. In theory usage will be the same, stop for an hour or two for lunch and maybe a little TV/nap.

So I guess the real question is, can the 2nd AC be turned off, and is it acceptable to use a 30a adapter to plug into the generator?

We've got a fair amount invested in this Generator and with less than 20hrs on it so far. If it is still usable for what we want that is awesome. That said, the last thing I want to do is risk damaging our brand new camper we haven't even picked up yet. It seems in theory like it would work, but I figure better safe than sorry, ask the experts on the interewebs

Thanks All,

2Cav is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-21-2016, 12:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
Ray,IN's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 12,303

Yes, it is perfectly alright to run one of your air conditioners with your genset. Just keep track of how much stuff is running, and limit it to <30A, to keep from tripping the 30A genset breaker, or dropping below 108VAC, as anything less than 108VAC will slowly burn up electric motors.
If your RV fails to get power from your genset it may be because the genset is not grounded internally. The genset may be grounded by driving a copper rod in the ground or, by making a specific grounding plug. You use an ordinary 15A plug, jump between neutral and ground screws, leave positive screw empty.Plug in into an open 15A receptacle to complete the internal ground.
If you aren't sure about that consult a licensed electrician, instead of taking my word. Hopefully one of our members who is an electrician will drop in and either confirm or correct my suggestions.

2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert theConstitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 08:24 PM   #3
Senior Member
TonyDi's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Posts: 6,238
As long as you keep track of the watts being used you shouldn't have any problems. Just make sure you stay under the maximum load.
Tony & Ruth........... FMCA#F416727
Newmar Dutch Star 4320, Spartan MM Chassis, Cat C9, Jeep Grand Cherokee,with Hemi, hooked up with a Blue Ox Aventa LX, and Brake Buddy.
TonyDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 07:29 AM   #4
Senior Member
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21,176
I would say yes. that sounds like a contractor's type (open frame) in which case you may wish to pass out earplugs to your neighbors.
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote

generator, service

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.