Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-09-2012, 11:10 AM   #1

Forest River Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Help: heading to Sitka Alaska via road and ferry

I am heading to Sitka Alaska via road and ferry around June 15th or so. Am taking my New Coachmen , Prism (MB Sperinter ) now I just found out will be towing my daughters Ford fiesta on a dolly as itís a auto.
Now for my question as I am new to RVing and have no experience using a dolly. What should I be checking, when towing ETC. ANY suggestions are welcomed.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-09-2012, 03:11 PM   #2

What kind of dolly? Does it turn when you turn or stay stationary? The best advice I can give you is to STOP after the first 30 minutes of driving and RE-TIGHTEN the straps that go over the tires (wheels). They have a habit of loosening up right after you start! Make sure you check those straps every so often. Good Luck.

Old 05-09-2012, 05:01 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryR. View Post