Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2010, 08:50 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
help with setting up a satellite dish

I am a Dish subscriber. Someone has given me a satellite dish. It is compatible with my system.
The problem is that when I connect it to my receiver, I can't get a signal. I have tried many times; leveling the tripod and slowly moving the dish back and forth. Of course I use a compass to get it aligned as closely as possible. I don't know if it is the dish or me.
Any suggestions on how to find out if the dish is DOA or it's me. If it's me, there has to be an easier way of setting it up.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ken
__________________

__________________
scrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-25-2010, 09:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BigSkyBob's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western Montana on the Divide
Posts: 1,206
Once you determine what the elevation and azimuth should be and level the mount it's a matter of finding the satellite signal. I use an inline signal strength meter to find the satellite then peak the signal with the signal strength meter in the TV setup app. I can usually find a good signal and get setup in about 5 minutes.
__________________

__________________
Bob Retired Army Traveling alone now.
2008 Camelot 40 PDQ 4 slides ISL400 towing a 2016 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 Quadcab
Western MT in summer, AZ, NV in winter
BigSkyBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 10:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
chasfm11's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: DFW Area, TX
Posts: 2,027
From personal experience, I think that Dish Network is harder to locate that DirecTV. You have to hit it dead on to get both the "birds" that you need.

As a test, here is what I suggest. Put the dish in your yard at home put the receiver and a small TV right beside it. Your receiver should have a setup function which allows you to see the signal strength. Note that even if you are hitting a satellite with an inline meter, if it isn't a Dish bird, the receiver won't recognize it. That is why I prefer the receivers meter to others.

Most dish elevation ranges are very hard to read. Be sure that you are using the elevation for your area and look at the bars closely for the setting. If you can get that very close, it is a lot easier set up the azimuth. Lay a compass directly in front of the dish (but not so close that it is influenced by the metal in the tripod.) I will often use a straight item, lined up on exactly where the azimuth is supposed to be on the compass right beside it. I can then line up the dish with the straight item An arrow shaft works well. Then, slowly swing the azimuth only (elevation locked) no more than 20 degrees on either side of the azimuth while watching the signal strength meter displayed on the TV from the receiver.

If that doesn't work, trying borrowing a dish from someone else and see if you can make the setup that I described work with a different dish. It is possible that you got a dish with a bad LNB. There is the remote possibility the LNB doesn't have the automatic switch that you need for Dish Network. You still should be able to get one of the two Dish birds.

Hope this helps.

Charlie
__________________
2000 Georgie Boy Landau 36' DP
2005 Saturn Vue toad
KF5-NJY
chasfm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 11:41 PM   #4
Moderator in Memoriam
 
Kablewizard's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Mesa, AZ, USA
Posts: 2,361
Hi Ken, there are only 3 things that can cause the problem.

1. The main cable could have a bent center conductor and not going into the connection correct.

Insure the pins are not bent, if its the cable you always use that would help.

2. The horns are either bad, or for the wrong satellites.

The LNB's have the number stamped on them to insure they are right,you can switch the ones from your old dish to the new one with a wrench and screw driver.

3. The cable from the LNB might be bad also.

You can connect direct to each, you wont get all the channels but you should get a signal and a few channels.

I agree Dish is the toughest to lock in I also used the signal meter to determine if I had good signal.

I hope this helps,
__________________
Jim (SSG US Army Ret.) and Cheri (TSG Phx ANG Ret.) Mesa, AZ
2006 Dodge Ram 2500 HD Mega Cab Diesel | 2005 Honda Goldwing | 2006 35' Dune Chaser 5th Wheel
Kablewizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 04:57 AM   #5
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Make sure the cable from the dish is connected directly into the reciever. You cannnot go through the park cable connector. Then follow the above suggestions. Verify that you have a good connection by reading 13 - 19 vdc on the cable feeding the LNB.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 11:51 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
georgetown350's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,603
Try moving tripod to a different spot, there may be an obstruction from a tree.
__________________
2008 HR 340 Cummins, Vacationer XL
georgetown350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 12:31 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
two2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 1,034
I used to be able to aim my Dish antenna by using the receiver's signal function until I got a model 301 receiver. Newer receivers, in my opinion, have really slow processors or something and do not react very quickly to signals. Witness how long it takes to do an antenna check or download program guide info. I do not recommend trying to aim using the receiver signal feedback. With that in mind, there are certain things to be sure to do in order. OP, scrim, you did not say if you are trying to use your antenna with your RV TV.
1. Be sure you have a signal path from the antenna to your receiver. By that, I mean are you sure the coax cable connects through, and if it goes through a Winegard switch or other selector that it is set to the right input? I have tried to help people who were trying to get a sat signal from their rooftop bar antenna. If you are trying to use the cable TV input through an antenna amplifier, it will not work. If you are not sure, run a coax directly from the dish to your receiver the first time you try to aim.
2. Get the angles for the area you are in and make sure the antenna mast is vertical and you have the skew and tilt angles set. You don't have much chance finding a bird if you are not set up right.
3. When the antenna is hooked up, do a "check switch" on the setup menu. Are you sure you have the right equipment? Twin LNBF? Two single LNBs? Is there a combiner switch (e.g., SW-21 or 34) if needed?
4. If you have two LNBs or a twin, put some aluminum foil over the 110 satellite LNB. This will make it easier to be sure the 119 eye finds the right bird.
5. Sweep left and right very slowly toward the desired south angle. Stop every couple of degrees and let the receiver have a chance to process the signal. This is where even a cheap signal meter is a great help. With a $10 eBay meter, I can get on the 119 antenna within 2 minutes 9 times out of 10. (I have my wife cover her ears on that 10th time.)
It takes practice and patience until you master it. Good luck.
__________________
2017 Coachmen Orion, Ford Transit 3.7L: previous
'09 Pleasure Way Lexor, '05 NRV Dolphin 5342
two2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 07:46 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
what compass works best

Thanks to all who have answered my post on "setting up a satellite dish". To start the dish was DOA. But now, whenever I get within a few feet of the dish, my compass starts pointing far away from North. Does the dish really create that much electro-magnetic interference? Is there a different make of compass I should consider?

Scrim
__________________
scrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 07:54 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 2,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrim View Post
Thanks to all who have answered my post on "setting up a satellite dish". To start the dish was DOA. But now, whenever I get within a few feet of the dish, my compass starts pointing far away from North. Does the dish really create that much electro-magnetic interference? Is there a different make of compass I should consider?

Scrim
Quote:
Does the dish really create that much electro-magnetic interference?
Yes!
Quote:
Is there a different make of compass I should consider?
No.
__________________

__________________
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 09:38 AM
Winegard RoadTrip SDI Satellite Dish? OldForester Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 13 04-01-2011 12:29 AM
Satellite Dish to TV Connecting Cable rgevans871 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 12-31-2009 07:55 AM
Direct TV Network Satellite Dish use Ray Burkel Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 06-08-2009 05:46 PM
Satellite Dish Outdated? LSepulveda Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 8 05-16-2009 01:08 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.