RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2019, 11:18 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 28
How do you plug in at home?

Probably sounds like a silly question, but I'm really not sure the best way and would appreciate hearing how others do it. I have a 50 amp MH. Do you use an extension cord with an adapter and plug into a 110 outlet? Do I need to have a 50 amp circuit installed in the breaker box? Finally, do you stay plugged in all the time when at home? Thanks!
__________________

MaxB is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-09-2019, 11:22 AM   #2
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 39,755
I had an electrician wire a 30 amp outlet for the RV. Yes, we leave it plugged in all the time when we are home.
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 11:24 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
av8tor2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Las Vegas, Nv.
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxB View Post
Probably sounds like a silly question, but I'm really not sure the best way and would appreciate hearing how others do it. I have a 50 amp MH. Do you use an extension cord with an adapter and plug into a 110 outlet? Do I need to have a 50 amp circuit installed in the breaker box? Finally, do you stay plugged in all the time when at home? Thanks!
I had a 50amp circuit installed by a contractor. As I understand it, you can certainly plug into a 15amp circuit (regular household outlet), however if you start to pull anything over 15amps into the coach, the breaker will trip. If you plug into a 20amp circuit, which you may have in your home, again, once your coach demands more than 20amps, the breaker will trip.

If you are going to pull more than 15amps at any time, you need a circuit that can provide whatever it is you need. If the coach is pulling 50amps, ever, you need a 50amp circuit to plug into. If your home does not have one, you will need to add it.

That's what I think. Probably someone on here will have more accurate info.
__________________
2017 Jayco Precept 35s

2013 Ford CMax hybrid toad.
av8tor2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 11:26 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 36,382
Mine is plugged in all the time. For normal spring, summer and fall weather I just plug into a 20 amp circuit. For colder weather I use my 30 amp plugin. Probably should have an electrician install a 50 amp plug in.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU Dragon Edition
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 11:26 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
skypilot_1's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Ozarks
Posts: 1,429
If plugged in to a 15 amp outlet (15-50 amp dog bone) set your inverter/charger to 10-15 amp shore power. Best to stay plugged in 100% of time.
Yes you will need a 50 amp 120v breaker installed in breaker box to run coach on 50 amps..
__________________
Ret. Military/Corporate Pilot
Summers in the Ozarks-Winters in the Keys
We're always home-But we're always gone
skypilot_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 11:32 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 471
I store my T/T inside and have a 30 amp breaker in my panel and a 30 amp receptacle that the T/T plugs into, and yes I leave it pugged in.
if you try and draw more current than what ever the 110 extension cord or the breaker can handle its going to kick off. if your going with a 50 amp receptacle you will need a 50 amp breaker.
Jay D.
Jay D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 11:39 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 1,183
I just plug into a 20 amp circuit to keep the batteries charged on our class A. If I need a/c I'll run the generator.
Bahamaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 11:41 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,239
Yes, always plugged in. Have a 30A outlet.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 11:45 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
450Donn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas,OR
Posts: 3,709
I bought a 50A receptacle and a heavy duty extension cord. Cut the end off, marry the 50A receptacle. Used it for years at home and occasionally at 15A only camp sites. 15A will run the converter, the refer with no problems. And at home what else do you really need.
__________________
Don and Lorri
2007 Dodge 3500 dually
Resident Dummy.
450Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 11:46 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Clomok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 465
We always leave our T/H plugged in, it keeps the batteries topped off and the fridge cold. Our last 2 homes only had 20 amp plugs, so if thatís the case, make sure your electric W/H is off and no A/C use youíll be fine. Make sure to use a large gauge extension cord, and keep it short as possible
__________________
2012 RAM 3500 dually
06 ragen 3506 BH
Clomok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 01:37 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Boston,ma
Posts: 6
Have an electrician wire in the correct amperage plug. A 50 amp plug is not 120 volts. It is two legs of 120 that gets split in the input box of the RV.
Roy-c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 02:42 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 333
I wired a 50a shorepower cable to the breaker box in my sister's "studio" via standard breakers. I routed as needed to put the plug on the outside wall, within reach of the 50a cable from the bus.
__________________
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
________________________________________
TARDIS Project 2001 Mountain Aire DP40' 330CAT
rodekyll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 02:48 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 19,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by 450Donn View Post
I bought a 50A receptacle and a heavy duty extension cord. Cut the end off, marry the 50A receptacle. Used it for years at home and occasionally at 15A only camp sites. 15A will run the converter, the refer with no problems. And at home what else do you really need.
You would need a Bigamist marriage to get the one hot leg of 15amp 120 volt cord to the two hot legs the 50 amp receptcal.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 02:53 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Unicorn Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5,882
I had a 30amp receptacle wired to the side of the house. I use a 30-50 amp dogbone and a 50ft 50 amp power cord to connect to the coach.
__________________

__________________
2008 Itasca Latitude 37g UFO Gas pusher.
2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara JKU.
Unicorn Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sky high home prices...how do you fulltimers deal with the ever rising home prices? TJFogelberg Full-Timers 25 07-28-2017 07:45 AM
Can you plug a 50 amp RV cord into a 4 prong appliance plug? Jeff753 RV Systems & Appliances 33 10-17-2015 12:19 PM
CC Recall Dealer can't find plug to un plug. Location Help dake Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 7 12-25-2007 04:55 AM
Spartan Chassis plug in "diagonistic" plug David K Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 24 12-21-2007 05:44 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×