Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 11-21-2012, 09:02 AM   #1
How heavy is all your stuff?

My wife and I are shopping for a decent sized (40'ish) DP for full timing. I've noticed that there is a wide range for GVWR, even within brand and years. Both Monaco and Beaver seem to drop about 5,000lbs from the top-of-the-line coach to the "second best". Can there be that much difference in empty weight of two 40 footers? Or are you just supposed to haul less stuff? I have some experience with ocean going boats, and those folks are very aware of how much weight they're carrying as it has to float! I have seen several folks that state that a great many of the big motorhomes on the road today are way over-weight. Does this concern anyone? I'm having trouble finding empty weights for some coaches (1995 Monaco Crown Royale?) so that I can calculate carrying capacity. Am I the only one concerned about this?
All this leads to my real question:
Anyone care to estimate?

ROADOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!