Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2016, 11:00 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 16
How long can power cord be?

New member here. We are on the verge of purchasing a new Class A coach, and I am trying my best to do my planning and get things worked out before we take delivery. I have a question about electrical service ............

I am going to have an electrician install a 50 amp outlet in my garage next to the door so I can leave the coach plugged in. I prefer the outlet be installed inside. However, the coach will need a power cord about 30 feet long in order to reach the outlet. Can I purchase a cord of this length, and most importantly is this a safe option?
__________________

__________________
Hidalgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-23-2016, 11:21 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
powderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: N. E. Ohio & Lady Lake Fl.
Posts: 889
Most cords that come with the unit are about 20' at minimum, so a small extension should do the trick. No problem with voltage drop with that short of a cable. Just make sure the electrician knows its for an RV.
__________________

__________________
powderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 11:24 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
ladagobago's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DW Driver -Winter Englewood FL, Summer Willingboro NJ
Posts: 1,192
Blog Entries: 11
Yes. you can get the outlet at HD or Lowes. Mount it outside otherwise the door or window will have to be left open to get power. Why do you need 50 amp for the MH if it is parked?? You can get an adaptor at Walmart to convert a regular 15 or 20 amp outlet and heavy duty extension cord to keep power to the RV.

The only reason to have a 50 amp is if you plan to live in the MH or run the AC.
__________________
La Dagobago
99 36 FL Winne Chieftain 5.9 ISB Turbo Cummins DP, 24' box with 1972 V12 XKE Jag and HD Sporty Hobby of 1970's Suzuki dirt bike restoration. Visit my blog.
ladagobago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 11:25 AM   #4
Just south of Twin Cities
 
Cooperhawk's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: 5 miles south of Lakeville, Mn
Posts: 1,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by powderman View Post
Just make sure the electrician knows its for an RV.
Let me second that. There are more than one 50 amp type outlets on the market and some will cause a lot of problems.
__________________
Retired FAA ATC,
VFW AL, VVA, NRA
2002 Journey DL 36, 3126 Cat 330hp
2015 Ford Explorer Blue Ox tow bar, AF1
Cooperhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 11:38 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
MisterT's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 2,737
yes, most class As come with a more than adequate length 50a cord, probably 35' or more feet in length. also, you can certainly purchase an additional 50a cord at 25' and 50' lengths just in case - it will also depend on where you park and how you orient your coach - many times I pull INTO a back-in site at rv parks and campgrounds(to get the best view) and run my 50a cord to the panel under the coach to the other side.
There are really not as many 'rules' for rv'ing as you might be lead to believe, sometimes trying something different is a better experience than what the norm might be.
We're in a CA state campground now - in a back-in site, but pulled in, and ran a 30a cord from the 30a pedestal, around the coach, and connected to the 50a coach cord with a 50/30a plug connector. The view is MUCH better!
__________________
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 11:48 AM   #6
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hidalgo View Post
New member here. We are on the verge of purchasing a new Class A coach, and I am trying my best to do my planning and get things worked out before we take delivery. I have a question about electrical service ............

I am going to have an electrician install a 50 amp outlet in my garage next to the door so I can leave the coach plugged in. I prefer the outlet be installed inside. However, the coach will need a power cord about 30 feet long in order to reach the outlet. Can I purchase a cord of this length, and most importantly is this a safe option?
Hidalgo
Here's a 30 foot 50A power cord: Camco RV 30' 50-Amp PowerGrip Extension Cord - Walmart.com

Here's a 50' 50A cord: Robot Check

However If you need more than 30' I suggest you get, use and carry 2 shorter 50A cords (so you don't have to wrestle a cumbersome 50 footer every time you go camping).

I carry a 15 foot and a 30 foot 50A cord... as well as a 25' 30A cord... a 25' 15A and a 50' 15A cord and various adapters

Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 11:48 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
no3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pueblo, CO
Posts: 516
We had our 50amp oulet installed outside of the garage in outside approved box. Most power cords are 30' to 35' in length. Just make sure you have the service to box for RV, and it is NOT 220 volt. You can search online for correct wiring for 50amp RV service, print and hand to electrician, then do voltage ckecks yourself when done, that's what we did.
__________________
2009 Berkshire 390 QS and toad
Retired and traveling
no3putt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 11:53 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lowell, Arkansas
Posts: 4,691
As somewhat stated but not completely clear. Most often the primary purpose for a 50-AMP service is if you plan or need to run both AC's at the same time. With a 50-AMP coach you can just run a 30-AMP plug and cord just don't run both AC's and you will probably be OK.

When your coach is plugged in at home it's primarily used for keeping things charged. Or getting the fridge down to temps for a trip. If it is used for guests on a temporary basis just don't use both AC's. Yes if you live in a warmer climate and need to use both AC's then run the 50-AMP service.

Also the ability to carry large amounts of current is dependent on the wire size and length. The longer the wire the less current it can handle unless you increase the diameter. It should be marked accordingly.

TeJay
__________________
TeJay Auto Instructor/4-yrs USAF/ Liz: RN/ WBGO 2014 Vista 30T/ F-53/CHF/5-Star/Koni * Bella & Izzy * Golden /Cocker mix/ Louie The Cat* All Retired
TeJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 11:56 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 16
THAT is just one reason I came here ........ I didn't know that there was a difference in outlets and it needed to be RV specific. That saved me a ton of heartache more than likely.

I already see that I have a lot to learn and a bunch of reading and research yet to do.

Thanks for all the replies !!
__________________
Hidalgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 11:58 AM   #10
srh
Senior Member
 
srh's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,116
I would, too, vote for putting the post outside provided you don't have tear up your garage to do that. You may even be able to put a plug on the wall of your garage on the outside.
__________________
srh
2008 Signature
srh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 12:10 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,894
Don't worry about your electriction not getting the right receptacle.

It is standard 50 amp 240 volt RV outlet.

Others who say it's different are wrong.

This is old miss-information based on the old 30 amp 120 volt service being miss-wired to 240 volts.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 12:12 PM   #12
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
Don't worry about your electriction not getting the right receptacle.
It is standard 50 amp 240 volt RV outlet.
Others who say it's different are wrong.
This is old miss-information based on the old 30 amp 120 volt service being miss-wired to 240 volts.
twinboat
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 12:38 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
wildtoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,929
Regardless of how you have the box mounted (your house, your call), you will want an extension cord to take with you on trips. It has been rare that I needed it, but I have had to use one. Same with water and sewer hoses, you'll want more than one.
__________________
Tom Wilds
Blythewood SC
2016 Newmar Bay Star Sport 3004
2013 Chevy Sonic Hatchback (Automatic)
wildtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 12:44 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,597
If you are using a 50 amp extension cord it is constructed of 6 awg wire. The voltage drop at a full 50 amp load is minimal, 100 ft you drop is 1.7%. The problem comes in though if the feed voltage is already low.

I carry a 25' and 40' 50amp cord. I also have a 100 ft 30 amp cord.

I carry an autotransformer that can correct voltage loss, so when I first plug in if there is a problem I'll hook up the autotransformer to be on the safe side. Also have a hard wired Progressive surge protector that has low voltage monitoring and will drop out at ~108 volts.
__________________

__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power cord 2016 challenger Sanford Thor Industries Owner's Forum 4 10-18-2015 05:27 PM
Power Cord conversion Gofishn Travel Trailer Discussion 12 07-21-2015 01:48 PM
Auto power cord rewinder kamakalama Newmar Owner's Forum 4 09-12-2014 08:59 PM
Electric shore power cord is tripping post Mrfoto Class C Motorhome Discussions 8 07-21-2014 06:56 PM
Power cord reel adonh Class A Motorhome Discussions 17 12-14-2013 06:15 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.