Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-16-2011, 10:20 AM   #1
Senior Member
RVluvin's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wittmann, AZ
Posts: 247
How to get more TV channels

RV parks always claim to provided more TV channels than the 5 or 6 channels I receive. My tv is connected directly to the wall plate. Is there some other piece of equipment I should be connecting between the TV and connection on the wall. Thanks.

RVluvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-16-2011, 10:43 AM   #2
Senior Member
texnet's Avatar
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Granbury, Texas
Posts: 1,349
For either a cable hookup from the RV Park or off the air signals of television stations you will need to use your TVs menu system to scan for available channels as they will change at each location.

Ronnie (WD5GIC) & Jan (WD5IHU)
2003 Monaco Dynasty Countess 42' w/tag, 2012 Ford Flex

texnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 11:13 AM   #3
Senior Member
njs42's Avatar
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Federal Way, Wa.
Posts: 2,901
Make sure you use your TV menu to scan for channels---it usually has a menu feature called "set up" or something similar. We do this every time we set up in a new park and we get all the channels.
I do all my own stunts
03 Dolphin LX 6355, Workhorse W22, 8.1 vortec, 04 CR-V, Blue Ox, Brake Pro----Norm, Barb and
Doc(He's a PhD)
njs42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 11:26 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
RickO's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,528
Even while at the same park we have to run the channel scan when switching between park cable and OTA antenna. I'm betting this is the root of your problem.

Good luck...

Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 03:49 PM   #5
Senior Member
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21,177
I have over 20 "Services" where I'm at (Over 8 channels) I've seen the count hit 30 or more, and I've seen it hit 3.

First: Assuming you have the common WINEGARD Sensar go toAddress and enter your zip or address. then follow instrucitons to the map, fine tune your location and find out where the stations are (Several web pages down as you click)

now point your antenna in that direction.

Second, If you have a WINEGARD SENSAR (Batwing) Not a competitor's add the Wingman

With all of them. That wall plate you mentioned has a switch and a light, LIGHT ON PLEASE.

Finally.. Some folks have reported success with an in-line pre-amp, it goes between the wall plate and the TV, I'm a bit leary of those but will try one.... Later. They run about 40-50 bucks and just now I need that someplace else.
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 04:13 PM   #6
Senior Member
num1dgh's Avatar
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 489
I went nuts at an RV park in San Diego with our Winnebago at the time trying to get more than just a few TV channels. I finally complained to the park manager and told him that they shouldn't promise all those channels and not provide them. He very obligingly came out to the MH with me, picked up my remote, and explained that I did not have it set on CATV for cable TV. I sure felt silly! Not only do you have to scan everytime you go to a different park, but you need to be sure that CATV is enabled on your TV.
John & Cathy Lamb
45' Marathon XLII
num1dgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 04:35 PM   #7
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 2,450
What are you trying to watch? Cable or OTA? If OTA using a Winegard Batwing are you getting all of the channels that others around you are receiving? If not, you will want to add the Wingman as mentioned above. Additionally, Winegard has now added a product called the Sensar Pro to their line of products which adds a secondary amplifier to the Sensar antenna helping to bring in distant networks.
If you are wanting OTA channels, have you checked to ensure the power supply is turned on (switch on and light lit on wall plate)? If so, but you are not getting many channels you can go up on the roof with a voltage meter, remove the coax from the Sensar and check the voltage at that end of the coax to ensure you have 12+V to allow activation of the antenna's amplifier.
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 05:20 PM   #8
Senior Member
paz's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,433
As others have said, run setup when switching from cable to OTA and vice versa.

As others have also said, if watching OTA channels, make sure the power to the wall plate is turned ON.

► If watching cable, turn the power to the wall plate OFF. ◄
2015 DRV Tradition 375KPS
2015 Chevy Duramax 3500HD LTZ Dually
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 09:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
goldwingerx2's Avatar
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 242
I have found that the brand, model etc can make a difference also. Right now we are sitting in Forest City at the Winnebago National Rally. The front TV is getting less channels than the bedroom TV. Without moving the antenna I get NBC on it, the front TV says no signal I can turn the antenna and still no NBC on the front TV. Don't know if this helps or not.
Dean & Mary (Retired U.S.A.F.) plus Purr
2012 Itasca Sunova 33C, 2015 Malibu LTZ w/Blue Ox setup & Brake Buddy
goldwingerx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 09:28 PM   #10
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canyon, TX
Posts: 380
We were at Branson, MO and had very poor reception. I went and bought a Winegard Co - Winegard Wingman - Over-the-Air Antennas - Camping World

Wineguard Wingman and got three additional channels after installing it.

I also fine, if I am on a fringe area, that I may need to rotate the antenna slightly one way or the other in order to get the most power for the picture.

It cost $ 24 or so, but I am happy with it.
Traveling America In
"God's Grace"
MikeandClaudia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 09:35 PM   #11
Senior Member
Half Dimes's Avatar

Florida Cooters Club
Appalachian Campers
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Nature Coast FL
Posts: 1,526
I just bought the Surelock Digital Signal Finder a couple of days ago and have been using it successfully to locate OTA digital signals so I can aim the antenna before doing the scan. It retails for $39.95 but can be found for less.
Dave & Jo Ann
'08 HitchHiker Champagne 35LKRSB | '11 F350 Lariat 6.7PSD
Half Dimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 01:21 PM   #12
Senior Member
RVluvin's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wittmann, AZ
Posts: 247
I usally set up the satalight dish, but there are the one night stays that just not worth the trouble or I don't have a clear view of the SE sky. I'll admit, I never thought to run through the set up and ensure I'm on CATV. I'm sure I'll have better luck next try.

Thanks every!!
RVluvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 01:42 PM   #13
Senior Member
Easyrider's Avatar

Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Baraboo, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,380
Before investing in the Wingman, consider getting the "Jack" antenna instead. I've tried both and though the Jack antenna costs about twice as much it gave us much more bang for the buck!
Steve & Nancy
2005 Itasca Sunrise 33', W20 Chassis, Ultrapower, Henderson Trac Bar
2012 Chevy Captiva Sport AWD, ReadyBrute Elite Tow Bar, Blue Ox Base Plate, Protect-A-Tow
Easyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 06:49 PM   #14
Senior Member
mrschwarz's Avatar
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 844
Send a message via Skype™ to mrschwarz
There is a difference between channel numbers over the air and on a cable system. Any channels beyond 12 are between broadcast channels 7 and 8 (I think. It may be a couple of others). When you set up to watch cable, you need to change the tuner to use cable channels, not OTA channels.

2010 Winnebago Tour 42AD, Cummins ISL 400, Allison 3000, Progressive EMS, Aventa II, Air Force One, Tire Safeguard TPMS, Blue Ox Tru Center (maybe), Lotsa LEDs
mrschwarz is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Local Channels on DTV Wyatt53 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 30 09-23-2010 10:13 PM
Local channels 4ms Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 16 07-07-2009 12:48 AM
45 channels on th roof antenna from the air NEILSJEWEL Newmar Owner's Forum 2 02-24-2008 05:47 AM
Direct TV, single LNB, Local Channels? GoneFishin Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 31 02-21-2008 02:39 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.