Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2014, 12:41 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Matt151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 21
How to wire inverter to power all plugs 2000 Discovery

I have a 2000 discovery and I was wondering if there is a easy way to wire up my inverter so it will power all the 120 volt outlets only right now it only powers the tv and microwave outlets would be nice to have all plugs powerd for convinance.
__________________

__________________
2000 fleetwood discovery 5.9 cummins isb 6 speed Allison 38ft
Matt151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-11-2014, 12:53 PM   #2
Community Moderator
 
Scarab0088's Avatar


 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 14,019
There are several ways to do this.

The simplest IMHO is to use an extension cord of the correct gauge for the max output of the inverter (a regular cord - not a dog bone or similar/unsafe double ended cord).

Run that cord from an open plug on the inverter to the shore power cord...plug the shore power cord into the extension cord (adapter as needed) and Viola', whole house inverter power.

Disclaimer:
You need to turn off the converter/charger to prevent the "loop of death" pulling battery power to charge the battery (that will kill the batteries pretty quickly) and ensure nobody turns on the aircon.

We have done this and it works perfectly...there is no need for a transfer switch because you must unplug the shore power cord to use it at a campground.

Safe travels and best luck
__________________

__________________
Kim and Steve, Mustang LCDR (Ret), Damon Outlaw #1193
I have seen gross intolerance shown in support of tolerance, Samuel Coleridge
https://www.irv2.com/attachments/signaturepics/sigpic84535_7.gif
WE LOVE OUR OUTLAW RV
Scarab0088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 08:30 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
mgscott4's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO./Pollock, LA.
Posts: 1,549
The best way is to install a sub panel. I did it this way. I installed another circuit breaker panel next to my main panel. I moved all of my "house" circuit breakers to it with a few exceptions. In the main panel, I left both A/C breakers and Fridge and electric hot water heater and installed a 30 amp breaker to feed my sub panel and inverter.

In my subpanel I have all of my outlets in my house, TV, Bedroom,Bathroom, Outside utility,kitchen, sofa and even my Microwave.

Since I have 50 amp service, and have 2, 120 volt lines coming in, I am able to "balance" the loads. My microwave is on a circuit by itself, however I did add a high current outlet for an electric heater on the same circuit.

Since I have a lot of solar panels to recharge my batteries, I can be on metered shore power, and turn off the breaker to the inverter and operate my "house" on batteries, while still have AC power to power my A/C's. I can save a few dollars doing this.

Here is some good reading. Jack is mostly talking about solar installations and inverter installations, and near the end of the article he discusses sub panels and splitting panels.

Last updated
__________________
06 Hurricane 34FT WH W20 Chassis 8.1L 132K, Steersafe, Koni Shocks, DIY Trac Bar, Tri-Metric 2025RV Battery Monitor, 4-6V Batteries, Scan Gauge 2, Crossfires, 735W Solar Morningstar MPPT-60, WG T4 In-Motion Sat, XM Radio, 07 Chevy Malibu Maxx Toad, Falcon 2, Brake Buddy, Escapee
mgscott4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 08:37 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
dvmweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MI
Posts: 982
What brand and model number is your inverter? How many watts? Is it just an inverter or does it have a convertor too? Batteries are important too.

It can be quite complex so be careful because 110 will kill you.


2013 FleetWood Expedition 38B
__________________
dvmweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 08:52 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Bumps's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: FTer Class of 2015 Origin: Evergreen, Colorado
Posts: 1,536
My shore power panel and my inverter power panel are side-by-side in my coach, so this change was pretty easy. I only had one circuit to move, so I simply added a new circuit breaker to the inverter power panel and disconnected the wires from the circuit breaker in the shore power panel for that circuit. I rerouted the wire from one breaker panel to the other breaker panel and that was it.

Later, I added a circuit to the shore power panel for a front-of-coach portable electric heater, so that abandoned circuit breaker ended up getting used.

\ken
__________________
Ken & Deb (WIT Club, FMCA, SKP, Harvest Hosts, and grateful volunteers with SOWERs)
2005 Winnebago Vectra 40FD w/400ISL and Allison 3000MH on Freightliner's Evolution chassis, Onan QD7500, 1000w Renogy solar, BlueOx tow gear, and 2015 Cherokee TrailHawk toad.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Bumps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 12:08 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,066
This can be simple or hard, depending on how good you are at remembering to do manual steps like turning of the battery charger, switching the fridge to LP mode, and making sure the a/c is off. Cause if you don't, your batteries will go downhill in a big hurry.

Your expectations also come into play, i.e. just what you expect to run via these other outlets. Your existing inverter probably can't supply anywhere near enough watts (or amps) to supply the things you typically run from other outlets. A 300-400 watt inverter that is plenty for tv & DVD will fall well short if you try to run much of anything else. You probably want 1000-2000 watt inverter to operate other devices, and that may also mean more/larger batteries to supply the power.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 12:20 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Triker56's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,945
A 2000 D has a 30 AMP service with a Freedom 1000w inverter/charger unless it has the optional 2000W one. And OEM had 2 house batteries with 218 AMP hr.
__________________
Triker56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 02:24 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,778
How to wire inverter to power all plugs 2000 Discovery

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scarab0088 View Post
There are several ways to do this.

The simplest IMHO is to use an extension cord of the correct gauge for the max output of the inverter (a regular cord - not a dog bone or similar/unsafe double ended cord).

Run that cord from an open plug on the inverter to the shore power cord...plug the shore power cord into the extension cord (adapter as needed) and Viola', whole house inverter power.

Disclaimer:
You need to turn off the converter/charger to prevent the "loop of death" pulling battery power to charge the battery (that will kill the batteries pretty quickly) and ensure nobody turns on the aircon.

We have done this and it works perfectly...there is no need for a transfer switch because you must unplug the shore power cord to use it at a campground.

Safe travels and best luck

This is how I have my coach setup. Requires a bit of manual power management management, which is not a biggie.

Additionally I have multiple smaller point of use inverters. These are the most often used as being more efficient.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 09:22 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,066
Quote:
A 2000 D has a 30 AMP service with a Freedom 1000w inverter/charger unless it has the optional 2000W one. And OEM had 2 house batteries with 218 AMP hr.
I see that now in the Discovery brochure, though many Discovery's had the 50A and other upgrades. I'm as bit surprised that it is only wired to the tv and MW, since the inverter has 30A capability. Would expect at least the other galley outlets to be wired through it.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 09:35 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,033
We installed a sub panel and moved most of the outlets to the sub panel. Ours was an after build install on a 5th wheel. Works great. We have less generator run time with the inverter.
__________________
jpharley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 10:46 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Matt151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 21
I have a xantrex 458 inverter charger with one 30amp breaker
My coach is only a 30amp shore power.looks like adding a sub panel is the safest way to go
__________________
Matt151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 01:00 PM   #12
Community Moderator
 
Scarab0088's Avatar


 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 14,019
If using a sub panel for the inverter power and moving the circuits of your liking to it, it is wise to also add a transfer switch to the design to move the source from inverter to shore power.

If you don't, those circuits MUST be powered by the Xantrex - even when on shore power. With no transfer switch, if/when the Xantex fails, those circuits are going to be dead.

Best luck
__________________
Kim and Steve, Mustang LCDR (Ret), Damon Outlaw #1193
I have seen gross intolerance shown in support of tolerance, Samuel Coleridge
https://www.irv2.com/attachments/signaturepics/sigpic84535_7.gif
WE LOVE OUR OUTLAW RV
Scarab0088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 06:21 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Triker56's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt151 View Post
I have a 2000 discovery and I was wondering if there is a easy way to wire up my inverter so it will power all the 120 volt outlets only right now it only powers the tv and microwave outlets would be nice to have all plugs powerd for convinance.
The inverter/charger should now power the front TV, rear TV, microwave and one plug in near the kitchen table area.

Go to Fleetwood and ask for the schematics for 12V, 120V and plumbing for your D. They will send them to you in a PDF.

You can get a lot of info from other D owners that have the same year and model as yours HERE. It does cost $$ to join.
__________________
99 Discovery 34Q ISB
2014 MKS AWD EcoBoost Toad
Fulltime Since "99"
Triker56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 09:31 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,733
Well, Yikes!! Am I in over my head in over-thinking this?

My needs would be to power the Refer, occasional microwave and toaster, and that's about it.

My guess would be a 2000 PSW inverter, but having to do a lot of wiring makes the change not as fun to make.

Could I buy just any old inverter and convert to plugs, or are units like Xantrex specially made for our systems? Do they require lots of retro-fitting?
__________________

__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2000 7.4 L Workhorse chassis loss of power RVcollector Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 17 12-03-2014 05:02 PM
2000 Discovery 36' Rebels roost Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 4 11-09-2014 06:17 AM
2000 Damon Escaper NO 12 volt coach power Wb2IVU Damon 5 08-22-2014 07:07 PM
2000 Discovery boost RS1626 Cummins Engines 7 07-30-2014 01:38 PM
Pix of control panel and inverter?? 2013 Discovery Statgeek Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 0 12-18-2013 11:51 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.