Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2012, 05:02 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Akibase's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 254
I need some solid information

Need some help. I have a problem with a very new Honda generator. I want to first say that I am not looking for a comparison of the EU 2000 and EU 3000.
Here is my problem and I would like to know if others have had the same issue. I run a construction company and have used Honda power on every piece of light equipment that is available with that power source. With that said, I guess I am definitely a Honda fan.
I had my two Honda EU 2000i's stolen in a break in to my garage. I decided to replace these units with a single EU 3000i. I have a rack built on my unit to accommodate the unit. Went camping at the race track on the weekend and found that the new unit ran a little rougher than my expectation. It was not real rough, but. The main problem was that as soon as we put the air on, the unit would go kick into overload. My AC is a 13,500 and I was of the impression that this Honda unit would handle this, with no other power draw. Am I asking too much of this unit. Is it not capable of the job. Was I misinformed.
I repeat,I don't want a comparison of the two sizes of Honda generators.

What I would like to know is:

Does anybody use this unit successfully for AC power?
Do you think I have a mechanical problem with the unit?
Do I expect too much of this unit
Would those that have real experience with this please post, as I need answers, not opinions. THANKS
__________________

__________________
I HAVE NEVER FAILED, BUT I HAVE HAD SUCCESS IN FINDING OUT WHAT DOESN'T WORK.

I PLAN TO LIVE FOREVER. IT'S WORKING SO FAR.
Akibase is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-24-2012, 05:22 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
Was your converter or inverter on? I can't run my microwave full power with my 2000 Yammy if my converter is on.
__________________

__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 05:43 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
tekrsq's Avatar
 
Mid Atlantic Campers
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 240
We use an older EU 3000 (not the i) at work every now and then as a "backup" to power the 13,500 AC on one of our trailers. It works, but just barely.
__________________
'87 Coachmen Leprachuan 27' on Ford E 350 w/ 460 cid, Hedman Headers, dual flowmaster exhaust
tekrsq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 06:43 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,117
Honda states runs *most* 13,500btu RV ACs. They also say:

AC Output
120V 3000W max.(25A) 2800W rated (23.3A)

Looking at the 3 RV AC mfgs, they all say less than 14a usage under full load. Unless you have one of the few ACs Honda says won't work, I would say you have one of these problems.

Something else is pulling amps (turn off inverter and/or unplug converter/charger)
Possible faulty starting capacitor.
Faulty load regulator on generator.

The best way to check this out is with a good amp meter. Check the starting amps of the AC with shore power.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:14 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,096
Are you plugged into the 30A twist lock outlet or one of the 20A parallel blade outlets? Makes a big difference in the available power. The 20A outlet gets [briefly] marginal when the a/c compressor comes on but should be fine once the compressor is running. Even if you have one of the older a/c's that draw more amps (newer ones run around 12A for a 13,500 btu unit.

The fact that you say it runs a bit rough is suspicious. Hondas are normally very smooth, both idling and under load.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 01:23 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Jimooo's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Amite, La.
Posts: 289
Hey it depends on your amp draw and wether or not your A/C is fully loaded, 13,000 BTU unit will draw up to 16 amps when LRA is first on, then FLA about 11-13 amps , that's a load on that Honda gen.
__________________
Jimooo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 01:35 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
K-Star's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fulltime - Currently somewhere in the lower 48
Posts: 2,215
when I used my 3000eui the same thing happened to me at a race track. turns out I had the `fridge on AUTO. When the generator started, it switched to A/C power. 2 Minutes later the AC tried to kick on and the generator shut down (Overload). So I learned to keep my `fridge on GAS and leave my Electric HWH switch off; gas only. Worked fine after that.

I was plugged into the 30A outlet on the generator.
__________________
John, Joyce & Zoie the Terrier. - Fulltime since `08

2017 Solitude by Grand Design
2012 Ford F-450 Lariat
K-Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:03 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
djbmsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Charlotte Harbor, FL
Posts: 1,806
I would suspect that the Honda is at it's max to run your A/C. I would also surmise that the A/C would need to be in top working condition for the 3000i to function properly.
__________________
Don and Nancy
[2014 40QBH Phaeton, 2015 Buick Enclave, 2yr old sisters Sara n Kaycee, Havanese, Two Segways
djbmsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:08 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Put frig on gas and water heater on gas , no electric. The 3000 should carry a 13,500 BTUH unit. If you shut down the A/C and try to restart too soon, it may kick the 3000 off.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:57 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Western New York (summer) someplace warm (winter)
Posts: 370
A 3000 should handle a 13.5 AC. We were able to run a 13.5 Dometic AC on our previous TT with a Honda 2000 IF we made sure everything else was off.
__________________
2011 Chevy Silverado 3500HD LT Ext Cab 4x4 Duramax/Allison, 2016 Redwood 39MB, Disc Brakes, Mor/ryde IS, GY 17.5" H tires, 5.5K Onan, Dual ACs, auto level, auto sat dish, stacked washer/dryer, residential fridge, King sleep number. Michelle & Ann
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 12:46 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
sc3283's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,126
I have 2 13.5K Dometic penguins....my eu300i will run 1 just fine....Both my ACs once started pull 11.4 amps..I know starting the amp draw is greater. I do turn off the speed control so the genny runs wide open when running 1 AC...I do not run the micro, but leave the fridge on AC power...and do not turn anything else off inside my RV
__________________
96 Dynasty 36' that does NOT wander, thanks to RuppParts.com and their superior "poly" suspension bushings
sc3283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 10:13 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
sc3283's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,126
typo above...I meant my EU3000i
__________________
96 Dynasty 36' that does NOT wander, thanks to RuppParts.com and their superior "poly" suspension bushings
sc3283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 10:26 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,829
Many have reported success with the EU-3000i.

If your air conditioner has a "Hard Start" kit, and you have NOT installed it, do so.

I have never tried my RV air conditioners on a generator other than my ONAN, but I know my 15000 BTU job would trip it's 20 amp on occasion (however it's due to be replaced in a few hours,, Turns out it had and "Issue".

The hard start kit may fix your problem, in any case it will make it easier to boot-strap it.

Option two is made by a company who's name starts with "V". like Vectron or some such. It is a battery/inverter/converter package you plug it into the Honda, plug the RV into it and when the demand (Starting current on the A/C) exceeds the Honda's ability, it kicks in and gives a bit of a "Boost".. Works just like two 2,000's in parallel, but only when needed, then it switches back to "Standby" and recharges it's battery.

Kind of expensive though, and sorry I have no link.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.