RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2017, 12:35 AM   #1
Senior Member




 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,745
Installing an RV outlet with 40 amp service

Im planning on installing an electrical outlet at home for my 40 DP. The outlet will be installed inside my detached garage and I would like to use a 50 amp outlet NEMA 14-50R outlet. However my garage only has 40 amp service supplied from my house circuit breaker panel via a double pole 40 amp breaker.

So in order not to allow more current than the wire from the house circuit breaker panel to the garage circuit breaker panel can handle, Im going to use a 30 amp double pole breaker to feed the RV outlet. (14-50R outlet). My question is, will I likely need to be careful in managing the power usage in the coach so as not to overlaod the 30 amp breaker, or is the 30 amp double pole power enough to power most everything?
__________________

__________________
Tim
Tampa Bay
'07 American Tradition 40Z Cummins 400 ISL
Towing a '14 Honda CRV
timjet is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-15-2017, 01:25 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Isaac-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: SW Louisiana
Posts: 3,673
Generally speaking a single 120V 30 amp service will power a single air conditioner up to 15,000 BTU plus typical lighting and similar loads, where the problem comes in is when you try to run the air conditioner and the microwave oven while charging batteries. In your case you would have in effect a pair of common 30 amp 120V outlets at your disposal, so I suspect you could have life as normal in most RV's. This assumes you don't have more than 2 air conditioners.
__________________

Isaac-1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 02:40 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 14,409
As I understand the question you will be wired as a 50a connection with two 120vac circuits, but with a 30a breaker instead of a 50a breaker. This differs from the usual 30a RV connection, which is but one 120vac circuit. I think you will be fine for the most part, as the loads in the coach are distributed across the two circuits. If you turn on two air conditioners / heat pumps, the microwave, water heater on electric, battery charger on full, etc. you may find it drops the breaker.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 06:18 AM   #4
Member
 
icepick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isaac-1 View Post
Generally speaking a single 120V 30 amp service will power a single air conditioner up to 15,000 BTU plus typical lighting and similar loads, where the problem comes in is when you try to run the air conditioner and the microwave oven while charging batteries. In your case you would have in effect a pair of common 30 amp 120V outlets at your disposal, so I suspect you could have life as normal in most RV's. This assumes you don't have more than 2 air conditioners.

see, here we go again. the OP stated TWO POLE 30 amp breaker!!!!!~ not 30 amp 120 volts. Big difference. To the OP, a 50 amp system fused down to 30 is fine. I have a 50 amp plug along side my garage, I ran #10 4 wire to it and fused it at 30 works great. Lets see how many more head up your fanny post we"ll get today
__________________
2014 Tiffin 36LA, added banks kit, magnum inverter, sumo springs, 5 star tune.
icepick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 06:21 AM   #5
Senior Member




 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
As I understand the question you will be wired as a 50a connection with two 120vac circuits, but with a 30a breaker instead of a 50a breaker.
Yes, exactly. I have only 2 air-conditioners. My intention is to occasionally bring the coach home and work on it as necessary but to also use it as overload accommodations when friends visit. Sounds like I shouldn't have problems and will instruct any visitors that you can't turn everything on.
__________________
Tim
Tampa Bay
'07 American Tradition 40Z Cummins 400 ISL
Towing a '14 Honda CRV
timjet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 06:27 AM   #6
Senior Member




 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by icepick View Post
see, here we go again. the OP stated TWO POLE 30 amp breaker!!!!!~ not 30 amp 120 volts. Big difference. To the OP, a 50 amp system fused down to 30 is fine. I have a 50 amp plug along side my garage, I ran #10 4 wire to it and fused it at 30 works great. Lets see how many more head up your fanny post we"ll get today
I think Isaac-1 clarified that in his last two sentences:
"In your case you would have in effect a pair of common 30 amp 120V outlets at your disposal, so I suspect you could have life as normal in most RV's. This assumes you don't have more than 2 air conditioners".

But this is still quite a bit less than the 50 amp service a camp ground has. 50 amp service yields 12,000 watts of available power where as dual pole 30 amp service yields 7,200 watts of power.
__________________
Tim
Tampa Bay
'07 American Tradition 40Z Cummins 400 ISL
Towing a '14 Honda CRV
timjet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 06:30 AM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 4,106
why not just leave the 40a dbl pole breaker? anything 50a or less will work.
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 06:33 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
photopilot's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 362
I have successfully run 2 air conditioners on just a single pole 30A hookup, so you should have no problem with the 2-pole setup, even if you have larger air conditioners. I just plug in and wait until the batteries are fully charged before turning them on.

Walt
__________________
Walt & Bonnie
2006 Monaco Camelot 40PAQ, Cummins 400 ISL
'16 Ford C-Max, Roadmaster BP, Sterling towbar
photopilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 06:42 AM   #9
Senior Member




 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterT View Post
why not just leave the 40a dbl pole breaker? anything 50a or less will work.
The 40 amp dual pole breaker is located on the main house breaker panel. The garage breaker panel located about 60 feet away is fed power from a cable sized for 40 amps from that 40 amp breaker. I will need to add a dual pole breaker in the garage breaker panel for the RV outlet so my thinking is that in order not to overload the wire between the house and the garage breaker panel (sized for 40 amps) I will limit the power to the RV outlet to 30 amps. That keeps the loads well below the wire capability and allows me up to 10 amps of power if I want to use something else in the garage.

Am I answering your question correctly?
__________________
Tim
Tampa Bay
'07 American Tradition 40Z Cummins 400 ISL
Towing a '14 Honda CRV
timjet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 06:56 AM   #10
Senior Member - DIYer
 
Waiter21's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 6,301
You should be OK. As mentioned by others, you'll be limited to 30 amps available on each leg instead of 50.
__________________
1999 Fleetwood Southwind 35S (Ford F53 6.8L V10 275hp 4R100 4 spd trans) - Toad 2003 Saturn Vue.
(www.1999Southwind.com)

It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
Waiter21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 07:01 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Podivin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 2,495
Go for it, it'll work just like you expect it to.
You won't be able to turn on every electric appliance in the coach all at the same time, but it doesn't sound like that's your intent anyway.
__________________
2013 Winnebago Sightseer 36V
Podivin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 09:24 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Suggestion: Take a look at your Generator...
What does that have to do with your question.

On my 50 amp Rig I have an Onan Emerald 5500 RV type generator

It has two circuit breakers.. 30 amp

And I almost never trip one via overload. At least not unless I'm feeding a 2nd RV (I can do that).

So, if you can run everything on a generator with 2 30 amp outputs, You will do just fine with your plan.

IN fact. i suggest it.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 09:35 AM   #13
Senior Member




 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,745
Thanks folks, I just hope Lowes has a NEMA 14-50R outlet.
__________________
Tim
Tampa Bay
'07 American Tradition 40Z Cummins 400 ISL
Towing a '14 Honda CRV
timjet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 09:41 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 4,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by timjet View Post
Thanks folks, I just hope Lowes has a NEMA 14-50R outlet.
https://www.lowes.com/pd/Utilitech-5...Outlet/3775483
__________________

__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, service



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
15 amp outlet on 20 amp circuit Robert05TS Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 15 02-25-2016 06:53 AM
12 Volt outlet frying small outlet inverter RVer402 MH-General Discussions & Problems 23 01-21-2016 05:27 PM
Icemaker outlet vs. Refrigerator outlet kketterling Monaco Owner's Forum 1 07-27-2011 06:37 PM
installing a 50 amp service fxdave iRV2.com General Discussion 4 11-28-2010 06:29 PM
50 amp to 15 amp household outlet khoenig RV Systems & Appliances 13 11-20-2010 10:50 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×