Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2011, 07:07 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Webetravelin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 26
Is 30 amps enough for full timers

Greetings
We are really new to all that is RVing but that's not slowing us down. Looks like we found a 32ft class A rig we're going to buy. It's 30amp ... with today's electrically needs - is that enough? We are planning to living in this rig full time.
We will have to work our first few years ... so how do full timers handle the need to iron clothes... is 30 amps enough? We will probably be in south south deep south TX with the heat and all... with A/C running can we run other appliances as needed?
Thanks for any insight on these questions.
WeBeTravelin
__________________

__________________
Webetravelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-24-2011, 07:16 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Wizard's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Home on the hill in Georgia
Posts: 2,457
Never had a problem with our '02 Brave on 30 amp service. Even on the hottest days in Georgia the ac's would keep up, we kept the wh on electric all the time. Your EMS will cycle things off to keep the power right. Microwave would sometimes cause the EMS to cycle things off if everything was on at the same time, but only for the time the micro was on.
__________________

__________________
Jerry & Patsy Potter, Taz & Jake Jr.
2000 Winnebago Journey
2006 Ford Explorer 4X4
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 07:21 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,060
Like any electrical use you have to pay attention to what you have on at the same time.You won't be able to run the electric water heater, AC , microwave and try to iron.I have run my 50 amp motorhome on 20 amps at times.You just have to keep track of what is on.More is usually better. 50 is better than 30.40 foot is better than 32 but buying what you can afford is usually better than getting buried.
__________________
bldrbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 07:56 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 475
As noted, you'll have to be very careful. No way you could run two A/Cs at the same time.
__________________
hooverbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 07:58 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
R1Kirby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Posts: 231
We been fulltiming for three years with 30 amp service and have had no problems. You should be fine...
__________________
Want to know what we're up to? Check out our website at My Trip Journal http://mytripjournal.com/11246
R1Kirby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 07:58 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
RustyJC's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cypress, Texas USA
Posts: 8,854
I'd never go back to 30 amps, but I'm spoiled. Our last 2 rigs have been 50 amp, and current draw worries are basically a non-issue.

Rusty
__________________
2016 Ram Longhorn 3500 Dually 4x4 CCLB, 385/900 Cummins, Aisin AS69RC, 4.10
2014.5 DRV Mobile Suites 38RSSA #6972
Come join us on a TEXAS BOOMERS rally!
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 08:15 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
WheelingIt's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: On Wheels
Posts: 1,983
I love our 50amp but have stayed in lots of campgrounds with only 30amp. It's not that big a deal. Like others said you just can't run several 'big draw' items at the same time. So, for example we can only run one AC and can't run microwave at the same time. It just takes a little practice. Small draw items like lights, computers and TV are no issue and can all be run together on 30amp.
__________________
12 paws, 40 feet and the open road
WheelingIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 08:16 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
wildtoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,927
I don't full time but have had three mh's with 30 amp service. None of them had an EMS but instead had a MEMS. (Maunual Electrical Management System) I had/have to be careful when running AC and Microwave (especially if it was a combo), could only run one AC at a time and unlike the Wizard, many times here is SC one unit would just not do it. So if you have the option go with 50 amp.

Having said that be advised that many campsites only provide 30 amp service.

Tom
__________________
Tom Wilds
Blythewood SC
2016 Newmar Bay Star Sport 3004
2013 Chevy Sonic Hatchback (Automatic)
wildtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 08:30 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 799
You have to remember with 50 amp you actually get 100 amps - two 50 amps circuits. There is a big difference between 30 amps and 100 amps.
__________________
Norm4015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 09:49 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Vegasdan's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,873
Sometimes you don't have a choice. Our rig is 50 amp and currently we are on 30, but, we can run everything we need right now, just don't need the AC yet. We have been places in the summer with only 30 and as others have said the AC cycles and you just have to be selective on what you run with it. Nothing's going to blow up even if you mess up and turn too much on, but you'll have to reset the breaker.
__________________
2001 National Tradewinds 7370 300 Cat
2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport
Officially fulltiming. The Journey Begins
Vegasdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 09:56 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
danes-on-tour's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denmark and Spain
Posts: 1,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norm4015 View Post
You have to remember with 50 amp you actually get 100 amps - two 50 amps circuits. There is a big difference between 30 amps and 100 amps.
You lost me there Norm !!! I am no electrical wizard and this is the first time I hear this.

To the best of my knowledge I have never been able to draw 100Amps from a 50AMP hook-up

30 AMPS is definitely doable but I have to say that 50AMPS is very convenient especially if you end up in hot weather and want to run 2 AC's.
__________________
The Great Dane
2007 Monaco Diplomat PAQ - 2007 Saturn Vue Honorary Texas Boomer
Living in Denmark - visiting the US whenever possible. www.winnebago.dk www.lasramblas.dk

danes-on-tour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 10:05 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
RJay's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Danes Are Coming View Post
You lost me there Norm !!! I am no electrical wizard and this is the first time I hear this.

To the best of my knowledge I have never been able to draw 100Amps from a 50AMP hook-up

30 AMPS is definitely doable but I have to say that 50AMPS is very convenient especially if you end up in hot weather and want to run 2 AC's.
If you have a 50 amp service you have 2-120(120/240 volt) volts supply lines coming into your RV with a 50 amp capacity on each line. If you look at the main breakers on you electrical panel they should both be 50 amps capacity.
__________________
2007 Newmar DSDP 4023
Discovery is seeing what everyone else has seen and thinking what no one else has thought.
If you want to see what man made go East; if you want to see what God made go West.
RJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 10:21 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Hamshog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Palm Springs, CA.
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Danes Are Coming View Post
You lost me there Norm !!! I am no electrical wizard and this is the first time I hear this.

To the best of my knowledge I have never been able to draw 100Amps from a 50AMP hook-up

30 AMPS is definitely doable but I have to say that 50AMPS is very convenient especially if you end up in hot weather and want to run 2 AC's.
Hey Dane,

From an Electrical Wizard, 120v x 30amps = 3600watts.

240v x 50amps = 12,000watts.

Watts is your total power.
Most all appliances are measured in watts.
Some in amps, but you still multiply by the voltage to get watts.

Call it what you will, but it's still 30amps vs. 100amps of total power.

Regards, Hamshog
__________________
'10 Carri-Lite 36XTRM5, '05 H/D Road King Classic, '05 Jeep Wrangler LJ, '02 Dolphin 5355 W/H 8.1L/Alli, Fulltime since 5/2010
Hamshog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 10:21 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
If the coach has one air conditioner than 30 amps is likely enough, Provided it's a good 30 amps (Many CG's the power is a bit.. anemic)

If you ahve two A/C's you will want a PSRV adapter http://www.psrv.net

I have a 50 amp rig,, When I'm on 30 amps I practice a bit of conservation, use the PSRV adapter for A/C #2, and get along just fine most of the time.. Problem is wife has Mrs. Douglas Disease (Refers to Eva Gabor's character on the TV show Green Acers) can't remember to turn one thing off before microwaving.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xantrex panel charging amps JLMunsil Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 14 09-06-2011 11:52 PM
10th Anniversary Rally Package Payments Madame Boomer Texas Boomers 2 07-29-2010 06:33 AM
30 Amps vs 50 Amps !!! BigRandy MH-General Discussions & Problems 16 06-20-2010 07:33 AM
Generator AMPs available pocoloco Boondocking 4 06-12-2009 04:16 PM
Power Line One Panel Limits One Leg 50 Amp circuit to 30 Amps SteveG Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 17 03-05-2008 05:43 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.