Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2011, 06:32 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
IMPULSE DRIVEN's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 321
laptop cigarette light, battery drain?

I left my laptop plugged into the cap cigarette lighter over night and it drained the battery, so I tried starting using the house batteries, as I have a switch for that, well that failed and I had to be jump started. I recently had a voltage regulator installed, is it possible they didn't hook the house batteries up right?
__________________

__________________
IMPULSE DRIVEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-19-2011, 06:40 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Shadowcatche's Avatar
 
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,218
This point up the need to monitor your batteries. A Bogart TriMetric TriMetric Battery System | Bogart Engineering would have let you know you had a problem and if batteries were being charged at the correct rate. Even a simple Volt meter would have helped. At the simplest level a VOM from Harbor Freight would have told you the system was not working.
__________________

__________________
Shadowcatche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 09:29 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Robi.1014's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 778
Agree with Shadow. A laptop in STANDBY (and charging as well) should not kill your chassis battery.

And something to consider:
Your battery-isolation relay (that give you that "battery boost" function) is a solenoid that must have juice to its coil in order to activate. So it's possible that your solenoid's activation coil is powered by your chassis batteries (which on this occasion were dead). So your house batteries might have "been there for you", but could not be connected during the "battery boost" phase because the solenoid was not activating.

But back to your dead chassis battery (or battery bank) health: Sounds like something is not right with the charging system ... or there is a bad battery there (e.g., the infamous "dead cell"?).
__________________
Robi & Dale ---- Go Navy ----
2016 Winnie TOUR 42'
Tow: '08 Buick Lucerne
Robi.1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 01:12 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,060
You say you were using the house batteries as a source and it still killed the chassis battery? Something wrong there, since they are supposed to be isolated. Did youget the chassis battery recharged after it went dead the first time? I don't think your Impulse charges the chassis battery from shore power, so it doesn't recover unless you drive it or use an external charger.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 04:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
pwf16129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 267
could something as simple as needing to clean cables, alternator failed on my class c decided to install a new one wire 140 amp i had on shelf installed fired up charging my chassis battery just fine took volt meter for grins checking other connections.
found 14.04 at my isolation solenoid but 12.71 when i touched it to battery itself,removed cable looked good cleaned with old style wire battery cleaner reinstalled 14.04 at battery, a slightly loose or dirty cable can play havoc on your charging system .
as stated earlier a volt meter and a little preventive maintenance can sure save a lot of trouble.

happy travels
__________________
pwf16129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Many Internet Group Members Does It Take To Change A Light Bulb? NLOVNIT RV'ing Humor & Crazy but True Stories 18 07-28-2014 10:49 PM
Battery Drain? Born2RV Class C Motorhome Discussions 1 04-12-2010 08:35 PM
Tow car battery power drain Mercer Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 11 02-07-2009 04:31 PM
Location, Location, Location - Low Spot Drain - Battery mickey53usa Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 11-06-2006 11:06 PM
40KD horizon chassis battery drain??? Lucchese1 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 02-25-2005 08:39 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.