Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2008, 08:01 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 44
I have an Onan 7.5 in a Class A. There are lines rolling from bottom to top on the TV's when on Generator.

Anyone hear of this? Have a fix?

Thanks,
__________________

__________________
Tboh
Tboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-15-2008, 08:01 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 44
I have an Onan 7.5 in a Class A. There are lines rolling from bottom to top on the TV's when on Generator.

Anyone hear of this? Have a fix?

Thanks,
__________________

__________________
Tboh
Tboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 08:40 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
bjbkkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 284
Do you have an Electric Monitoring System (EMS) that tells you voltage, frequency and current? That might give you an indication if the power isn't clean.
__________________
2008 Itasca Sunstar 32 K

2005 Honda Element
bjbkkb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 09:20 AM   #4
Moderator in Memoriam
 
Kablewizard's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Mesa, AZ, USA
Posts: 2,361
The lines slowly scrolling up your screen are called HUM bars: that is AC voltage that gets into your system. That is caused by several things mostly a bad ground. Those of us in an RV with a generator have several more possibilities then others. If you don't notice it when hooked to park power that helps limit the cause. I would start with checking the ground on your generator and then look at your power system (Inverter) to be sure your ground has not gotten loose from vibrations of driving. It's just a matter of insuring all the screws are tight on the ground bars. Depending on your unit there could be several locations. Also insure the frame grounds are tight also. We had lines on 1 TV only, checking the power plug I found it was turned wrong and the problem went away. I don't understand how it affected AC but it did. I hope this helps.
__________________
Jim (SSG US Army Ret.) and Cheri (TSG Phx ANG Ret.) Mesa, AZ
2006 Dodge Ram 2500 HD Mega Cab Diesel | 2005 Honda Goldwing | 2006 35' Dune Chaser 5th Wheel
Kablewizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 01:12 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 44
Thanks guys, I'll do some research on the numbers coming from the rig.

The inverter and from shore power show no hum bars. Only with the gen. It changes with the load on the gen too.

Hummm.
__________________
Tboh
Tboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 10:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
RedneckExpress's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sauvie Island, OR
Posts: 2,353
Send a message via ICQ to RedneckExpress Send a message via AIM to RedneckExpress Send a message via MSN to RedneckExpress Send a message via Yahoo to RedneckExpress
See if you can get an electrical shop to test your output voltage with an ocilliscope to check the sine-wave pattern of your 120. If its not a smooth 65hz wave, you're genny is creating unclean power which messes with electronics and electrical motors.
__________________
'92 Dodge W250 "Dually" Power Wagon
'74
KIT 1106 Kamper Slide-in Truck Camper
'06 Heartland Bighorn 3400RL Fifth wheel
Follow along with me in the The Journey of
RedneckExpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 04:45 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Bob (WA0MQE)'s Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Between Colorado Springs, CO & Fulton, TX
Posts: 1,515
Blog Entries: 1
Most smaller generators, including the ones in RV's, do not have very clean power. This is because it's expensive to build a generator that will give you the same clean power as commercial power. The generators are a mixture between modified sine wave and pure sine wave. It's not unusual at all to have this problem in your a television set. This also depends on the filtering built into the television's own power supply. Some are better then others.
__________________
Bob 2006 Monaco Camelot 40PDQ
US Navy Carrier Battlegroup 1959/1963
Summer in Colorado, Winter Texas Gulf Coast
Bob (WA0MQE) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 04:50 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 44
All good info.

I also should have mentioned this is a new issue and the gen has only 600 or so hours on it.

I'm going to check those grounding points first, then seek out some expertise if thats not it...

Thanks
__________________
Tboh
Tboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 05:25 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,096
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">If its not a smooth 65hz wave, </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Should be 60 Hz, not 65.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 07:50 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,196
Try turning off the roof vents or other DC motors (those that have brushes) and see if that helps.
__________________
Neil V
2001 Winnebago Adventurer WFG35U
NeilV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 08:26 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 44
The Onan 7.5 seems to be all solid state with no adjustments possible. Must be something 'environmental.

I did have the fans running this last trip... you may have something there.

Hummm, interesting.
__________________
Tboh
Tboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 08:31 AM   #12
Community Administrator
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,622
The 7.5 QD has pure sine wave inverter built in and it has a high quality output.
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 08:47 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 44
Thats what I'm reading. Neat gizmo for sure. Seems to be an all or none system so the ground or the back interference seems to the the likely culprit. I'll have to get under it and check arround.

Thanks,
__________________
Tboh
Tboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 07:21 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
george henry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA. , South Beach, FL. Naples, Fl , Coral Gables,FL.
Posts: 1,112
Always let the gen run for about 3 minutes to warm up before putting any load on it . Also lots of folks forget to let the gen run a few minutes on it's own without any load before shutting it down.. I think your small problem was the power fans in your vents running at the same time your Tv was on when you were on gen.
Mine did the same with I when back to shave while my wife was driving on the gen with 3 tv going on the same time and yes I had the blender running to make margaritas yes it had lines all three tvs at the same time , but when I shut off the electric shaver and blender that I had plug in , it when away on all 3 tvs.
No big thing , I can live with that. just takes two minutes or three to shave and make drinks.
__________________

__________________
george henry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running propane heater while running bandmbrown MH-General Discussions & Problems 32 11-17-2014 07:41 PM
RV Drain Lines majfrizz 5th Wheel Discussion 7 07-30-2008 08:36 AM
Gen load while engine running mystere900 Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 4 02-06-2007 08:42 AM
Water Lines rhandley iRV2.com General Discussion 5 11-06-2005 12:34 PM
Gen load while engine running Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 4 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.