Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-21-2015, 09:08 AM   #1

Logistics of buying from an out-of-state private party?

I've tried to research this and ended up bewildered. The coach that I am looking at is in Missouri. I am a Michigan resident. I've never purchased a vehicle from a private party before, much less from another state. How does one go about it? After inspection, when price is agreed on, how does it go from there?

I have approved financing through USAA. The title is supposedly clear, although I haven't run a title check yet. My biggest concerns are title transfer, licensing, and possible sales tax. How does that work? How do I legally get the MH and title from MO to MI to register and license it? How do I insure a vehicle that I don't yet own, so that I can drive it home? I've heard that there is no sales tax on private party sales, is this true?

I appreciate any info. Thank you!
Circejane is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!