Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2007, 09:52 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
We just bought a new 5er and plan on camping on my a farm in central Illinois a few weeks every year. We have a barn with electric and water but I want to set up camp about ~100-150 yards from the barn near one of our ponds. We will eventually set up a permanent site and run underground electric. However, what is everyone's suggestions on powering that far from the source. I figured I would make my own power cord from a spool of 10/3 wire and just install a 30 Amp outlet at the barn we can hook into. What are my power losses going that distance and do you think I am going about this the right way. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. ps Im not really the boondocking type.

Thank You,
Bob Shelton
__________________

__________________
Bob Shelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-10-2007, 09:52 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
We just bought a new 5er and plan on camping on my a farm in central Illinois a few weeks every year. We have a barn with electric and water but I want to set up camp about ~100-150 yards from the barn near one of our ponds. We will eventually set up a permanent site and run underground electric. However, what is everyone's suggestions on powering that far from the source. I figured I would make my own power cord from a spool of 10/3 wire and just install a 30 Amp outlet at the barn we can hook into. What are my power losses going that distance and do you think I am going about this the right way. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. ps Im not really the boondocking type.

Thank You,
Bob Shelton
__________________

__________________
Bob Shelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 10:09 AM   #3
Retired Senior Member
 
RonNBama's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,046
Blog Entries: 22
I used to have a nifty voltage drop per foot per amp chart but have lost it in my pile of do-not-lose stuff. IMHO, you'll be ok with a 300-500 foot run until the AC tries to kick on. You may have problems with the inrush current and subsequent low voltage. Mine has about a 125 foot run of 10/3 and when the AC kicks on it'll drop the voltage down into the 108V range. The Frank's Voltage booster helps out here and immediately will king the voltage back up to "normal".
__________________
(1984 Barth Regal)
(1998 Monaco Dynasty)
2001 Monaco Executive
RonNBama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 10:21 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
That chart would be awsome. Is there a capacitor that I could buy and run 50 Amp into 30Amp to offset the power loss. Just thought about that as an option.
__________________
Bob Shelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 10:22 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Pond Piggies Club
Appalachian Campers
Mid Atlantic Campers
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 4,604
I would buy the correct wire to run underground and run it on top of the ground. I'd bury it when I installed the permanent setup.

-Tom
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L

Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 10:27 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Riverdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Spokane Valley, WA
Posts: 202
Tom N -- interesting signature.....I see your USA map is inverted. It's pretty cool you've been able to see so many states.
__________________
2004 Chevy Silverado 2500HD - Duramax/Allison

2009 Komfort Trialblazer 285S
Riverdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 10:27 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Yes I agree It will be to code for burying in the future. Just need to spend some time out there camping first to find out where we really want to set up a more permanent site.
__________________
Bob Shelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 12:49 PM   #8
Retired Senior Member
 
RonNBama's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,046
Blog Entries: 22
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bob Shelton:
That chart would be awsome. Is there a capacitor that I could buy and run 50 Amp into 30Amp to offset the power loss. Just thought about that as an option. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hmmmm, not sure what you are asking here. Maybe one of the experts will step up and provide an answer. I don't think there is such a critter as you suggest. The voltage drop along the service conductor is what will hurt you. You may want to spend a few more bucks for a larger conductor(?). At least look at the amps expected at start-up on the AC and get the electrical supply house to do some calculations for you. They probably haven't lost their charts.
__________________
(1984 Barth Regal)
(1998 Monaco Dynasty)
2001 Monaco Executive
RonNBama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 05:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Acker1's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 307
At the bottom of THIS PAGE is a wire size requirements chart and voltage drop calculator.
DICK
__________________
2010 Phaeton QTH 40'
2017 GMC Sierra Crew Cab pickup 4X4
Recon, D,2/7, 1st Cav '65
Acker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 06:00 PM   #10
Retired Senior Member
 
RonNBama's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,046
Blog Entries: 22
Excellent resource.
__________________
(1984 Barth Regal)
(1998 Monaco Dynasty)
2001 Monaco Executive
RonNBama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 06:09 AM   #11
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,716
Wow, what a timely thread! I'll be wiring up an RV outlet at our daughter's new house this summer and I was just thinking about what wire gauge I would have to use. Thanks to Bob Shelton for starting the thread and thanks to Acker1 for providing the link to the wire gauge chart and voltage drop calculator.
__________________
2015 DRV Tradition 375KPS
2015 Chevy Duramax 3500HD LTZ Dually
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 07:51 AM   #12
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,295
I think I would buy the appropriate wire gauge, run it in pvc and leave it lay above ground. Just leave enough excess wire at both ends to eventually move it to where you want it.
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 07:10 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Sorry I missed a couple days. Just got the 5er delivered today and have been busy. Thank you for all the information this has been exactlty what I was hoping for. You all are the greatest resource. Keep it coming Im sure there are nuggets of info we are missing
__________________
Bob Shelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 08:58 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
OpaRon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Havana, FL, Gaston, OR & Flowery Branch, GA
Posts: 248
Dick, GREAT charts on "this page" of your post! I've copied them to my hard drive and will put them in my maintenance file! Plus, the photos will let me make my own checking device to check CG wiring,voltage, etc. Thanks! OpaRon
__________________

__________________
OpaRon

2005 Dutch Star (4009)
OpaRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric any one? Izzyblueye Class C Motorhome Discussions 7 02-13-2009 03:54 PM
Electric Fans captpar Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 3 11-13-2006 06:45 AM
Electric Outlets Webster RV Systems & Appliances 11 03-07-2006 10:36 AM
Electric Brakes twc88 5th Wheel Discussion 6 11-29-2005 05:38 PM
Electric heat deerjohn MH-General Discussions & Problems 4 08-10-2005 04:20 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.