Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
View Poll Results: so van+TT or class C MH
go for the van + TT 0 0%
go for a MH (C class) 1 100.00%
Voters: 1. You may not vote on this poll

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 04-24-2014, 11:44 AM   #1
Question New here, planning a 4 month cross country trip on a job move

I'll start my new job on the west coast in 5 months.
planning to
1- sell the minivan
2a- buy a 1 ton van and a TT
2b- buy a MH.

2a seems like the reasonable choice because with a class C we'll need to buy another car once we get there.
2b seems like more fun as a trip, less hassle (and I have no experience towing.)

would love to hear your thoughts on this decision. (is C class safer than a TT for a long cross country trip?) how about the gas mileage. looks like it's going to be about 1$ per mile on an older C class and about 60c per mile for the van (and there's a good few K miles to go)

can you get groceries in a MH? or do you just go to a Target/costco for everything.

what's a good rule of thumb for older ones (e.g. nothing older than 7 years or whatever.)

do I have to register the MH in every state I get to?

is this the place to ask?

(i put a poll for options 2a 2b)

vi7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!