Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2015, 05:35 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
abrasv's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mo
Posts: 256
New water pump pulsating

Just installed a new Shur-Flo water-pump to gain increased volume. That part works as it should however, when the pump is running it seems like it is pulsating and the interior lights flicker. I hooked it up to the same wires as the older Shur-Flo was hooked to. I'm currently in a campground and plugged into 50 amp service which has been checked out and works ok.

Am I drawing to much current for the somewhat larger pump? Went from 2.8 gpm to 4.4 gpm.

thanks,
Jim
__________________

__________________
Jim and Carol
2005 Monaco Windsor
2010 RAM 1500 Quad Cab 4x4
abrasv is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-24-2015, 06:07 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bigd9's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Bluegrass State
Posts: 3,859
My first gut feeling is it may be an adjustment on the pump itself. I don't see how it can be a 12 volt supply problem. Is your pump as hard to get to as my coach is? I can't even see it unless I use a mirror to look behind the metal panel.

I think a call to the Surflo people is in order.
Good luck and keep us informed as this pump is on my "to do" list.
__________________

__________________
Good Luck, Be Safe and Above All, Don't Forget To Have Fun
Pete
2006 Fleetwood Discovery 35H, being pushed by a 2014 Honda CRV
Bigd9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 06:42 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
abrasv's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mo
Posts: 256
Pete, My pump is located in the compartment next to the one with all the pipes and dump valves. Still have to stand on my head to work on it but at least it is not behind the metal panel.
Think I'll call Shure-Flo on Monday to see if they have an answer.
__________________
Jim and Carol
2005 Monaco Windsor
2010 RAM 1500 Quad Cab 4x4
abrasv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 06:48 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
That pump does indeed draw more amps and the wiring may be a bit on the skimpy side. Also the pump relay (controller as well). A skinny wire under a high load will cause a reaction like that.

What model Shur-flo? Is a variable speed type? My Aquajet variable speed pump can draw up to 10 amps.

The pulsing is a result of the higher pump capacity. It can deliver a lot more water than the old 2.8, so it reaches the cut-off pressure (40-45 psi) more quickly and cycles off, then quickly comes back on as the water continues to flow out of the faucet. The old 2.8 gpm pump just ran flat out all the time trying to keep up with demand.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 07:01 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Newcastle West, Ireland
Posts: 392
Hook up an accumulator to the system. The larger the better.
Sometimes called an extrol tank.
__________________
'98 Southwind 34L, too many cameras, old hat, young heart.
May the light be with you.
Mentor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 07:03 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary RVRoamer View Post
That pump does indeed draw more amps and the wiring may be a bit on the skimpy side. Also the pump relay (controller as well). A skinny wire under a high load will cause a reaction like that.

What model Shur-flo? Is a variable speed type? My Aquajet variable speed pump can draw up to 10 amps.

The pulsing is a result of the higher pump capacity. It can deliver a lot more water than the old 2.8, so it reaches the cut-off pressure (40-45 psi) more quickly and cycles off, then quickly comes back on as the water continues to flow out of the faucet. The old 2.8 gpm pump just ran flat out all the time trying to keep up with demand.
That was my initial thought too. The pump volume is too much for the plumbing size.
A work-around might be to install a 2G expansion tank just after the pump.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 07:09 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,928
Some pumps have/had adjustment screws at the bottom not sure what they adjusted [smile]. As mentioned, wiring can be an issue--epecially if your coach has two or more switches [three-ways] and no pump controller is used [long wiring run + small wire = drop voltage]--adding a relay and wiring a clean/direct 12v supply line may help this issue. Large capacity pumps can/will out run single faucets, causing the pump to cycle--adding an expansion tank will help.
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 10:32 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
You have faucets that can release water at a rate of maybe 1-2 gpm, and usually much less if not turned full on. Your pump is pushing out 4+ gpm, so of course it shuts off, then turns on again after a few seconds. Yu can experiment with this simply by opening the faucet more or less and observing the pulse change. Open a second faucet and the pulse may go away altogether. The only value of a higher capacity pump is to allow more than one faucet to get full flow simultaneously. Otherwise its just wasted capacity. It's nice though, to be able to turn on a faucet without causing the person in the shower to yelp!

An accumulator changes the duration of the pulse, i.e. you can run a bit of water before the pump starts cycling. Once you have depleted the accumulator reserve, the pump cycles again to refill the accumulator, so you get wider spaced pulses. And you can run water briefly with no pump cycle at all.
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water, water pump



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with water pump problem please VB Bill Entegra Owner's Forum 18 02-20-2015 08:51 PM
Water Pump Light in Utility Area rockintom Excel Owner's Forum 2 10-03-2014 06:37 PM
Macerator or Water Pump - need recommendation Nunyadamn RV Systems & Appliances 2 06-16-2014 07:56 PM
How to prime water pump? bluelghttr National RV Owner's Forum 5 05-13-2014 06:44 PM
Water Pump Relay Location Sohapi Monaco Owner's Forum 15 03-08-2014 12:17 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.