Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-19-2014, 09:01 AM   #1

Newbie looking to buy first....not sure

Hello all
I'm new to RV'ing and have so many questions that I would love to ask but my first one is probably the most important one…..Should I buy an RV or a travel trailer?

I've NEVER owned an RV/TT before, neither did my parents or my in-laws; so we have NO experience with RV/TT.

My wife and I have two boys and we've done several tent camping (with our SUV parked next to us) over the past few years. We’re definitely not experts but the one thing that we realized is our family loves being outdoors and enjoys camping so over the last couple of years we've done trips to Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont and Nova Scotia. As much as we could we tried staying in campgrounds (tent or cabins) as well as hotels. My wife and I decided that we wanted to get an RV/TT to travel more with the kids before they get too old and don't want to go on vacation with us anymore. Below are some of our reasons for buying a RV/TT

1. We don’t really like staying in cabins/hotels because we don’t like using (i.e. sleeping, etc.) other people’s things (i.e. blankets, sheets, etc.)
2. Cost saving as we could eat some meals in the RV/TT, when staying in hotels we eat out EVERY meal
3. More comfortable (and safer) than tent camping
4. We can take the dog with us (also a cost saving)