Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2016, 08:59 AM   #15
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,060
Quote:
I suspect it may have something to do with the size of the coach electrical system.
Not at all. If your coach trips a GFCI, it has a ground fault. That's an indication of electrical system defect and not a "normal" condition for any RV. It's a safety issue - the electrical system is not protecting you from shocks if something goes wrong. Some fairly common RV electrical problems that trip GFCIs are high resistance faults in the fridge heater element (RV fridges only - not residentials) or improperly grounded inverters or converters.
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-14-2016, 10:57 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 193
You need to be careful in just plugging into a garage or outdoor outlet. Most likely they will not only be on a 15A circuit, but the wiring to it will most likely be 14GA. If the amp draw it too great it will not only overheat the cable to the RV, it could damage the wiring dangerously inside the walls of your home. The proper solution is to have a 30 or 50A outlet installed with the correct gauge wire to it from the breaker box off a matching amperage beaker.

I installed a 30A outlet in my garage but I can only run the converter and fridge on it. My AC draws too much and the wiring to it is 14GA. I will be wiring an correct setup soon.
__________________

__________________
2008 Winnebago Aspect E450 26A. Oh, yeah, the wife and geriatric Beagle, Irwin, come along too.
OlYeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2016, 03:01 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 421
You can look up the specs for your AC unit and see what you need. Mine is 14.9 amps max and will start up connected to a 15 amp circuit. It trips the breaker when any other load is added, so I never use it.

The best solution is to install a 30 amp circuit to use, which should be enough to run the AC and leave you about 15 amps for other things, including the refrigerator which should use anywhere near 15 amps by itself (check manufacturer specs for requirements).

For me, on a 15 amp circuit, my refrigerator runs, my electric water heater works, and I can use the microwave at the same time and still have enough power for the computer, television, wi-fi network, lights, and misc. other things.
__________________

__________________
alvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
newbie



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEWB question. Should I unhook Jeep's power supply before plugging into shore power? scottandanna iRV2.com General Discussion 8 06-10-2016 11:02 PM
Plugging into 15a at home HavingABlast Newmar Owner's Forum 40 01-02-2016 03:28 PM
Plugging into home outlets FLYING BUTCH Class A Motorhome Discussions 11 07-17-2011 06:57 AM
plugging into 110 outlet bmerritt Class A Motorhome Discussions 19 02-14-2011 08:15 AM
Plugging into 110 with coach batteries removed Nonno Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 18 12-31-2006 12:10 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.