Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2015, 01:37 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
No power from generator

With my generator putting no power to the coach will my shoreline still work ? Don't have 50 amp service at home to test ! Any insight on this problem?
__________________

__________________
Ward LeBlanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-19-2015, 01:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,597
What is the make and model of your rig. Does it have an automatic transfer switch.

In most cases the shore power should work.

On most generators there is a circuit breaker on the generator, I have a 7500 Onan and the breakers are located on the generator control panel near the start switch. If the breaker(s) are thrown it will not provide power to coach. Check by throwing breakers off and then back on.
__________________

__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 01:46 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,799
That is a good question.. And I will tell you why
There are two different types of automatic transfer switch (Plus one other method)

The one I have, it's "Resting" state is "Shore power" if the electronics that control it fail,, I get shore power. If the relays, also called Solenoids or contactors fail. Well,, That I'll cover down the page. But if the electronics fail , Shore power is the "Default option".

The other kind, the default option is "NOT CONNECTED" if the control electronics fail.. you are out of luck.

The third system is a manual transfer system (An outlet, matching your shore cord, somewhere on the RV, usually NEAR (or on) the generator, plug in to use generator.

Relay failure.

Sometimes epically if you hot switch (Fire up the generator with shore power present and teh air conditioners running) the inductive "KICK" of those big blower and compressor motors will cause arcing o the relay contacts, this can weld them in one or the other position, Not good.

This is why you should shut off shore power for 2 minutes (minimum) Before starting generator (or otherwise kill all loads first, I trip my main circuit breakers)
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 01:48 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,799
One other thing. You say Generator not supplying power....

On the genrator there are usually a pair of circuit breakers.. On mine the ON/OFF (the "Tripped" position is full off) markings are not easy to spot. (A flashlight helps). You might wish to check those.

ONAN generators, if they are not working, shut down.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 02:21 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
All breakers are on, the time relay board fried inside of the transfer switch while running the generator! Will the shoreline work with this condition ?
__________________
Ward LeBlanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 06:40 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,078
Usually the shore power will still work, but once you say a circuit board is fried, it's anybody guess. So while your chances are good, it's not a given.
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator starts when I try and power the chassis...? phunny MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 10-14-2014 12:49 PM
No power from Generator? Born2RV RV Systems & Appliances 1 09-20-2014 04:39 AM
ONAN 5500 Generator Power AUPOP Class A Motorhome Discussions 18 03-27-2014 07:26 AM
No power to generator or accessory side of key switch Jon bennett Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 4 02-19-2014 10:27 AM
Wondering about capabilities of generator electronic controls TrailerFool Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 1 01-07-2014 03:44 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.