Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2011, 09:17 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Bussman's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 19
No power to plugs

I was tailgating at a concert with my '92 Fleetwood Bounder. Had the generator running to power A/C and use the outlets for crock pot, blender, radio, etc. DW turned on microwave to heat something and EVERYTHING. Shut down. Generator was still running. I shut generator downwaited a bit and restarted it. A/C came back, but no power to any plugs. I suspect GFI popped somewhere, but I can't find it! HELP!! Any suggestions would be appreciated. I'm stumped.
__________________

__________________
Bussman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-28-2011, 09:20 AM   #2
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bussman
I was tailgating at a concert with my '92 Fleetwood Bounder. Had the generator running to power A/C and use the outlets for crock pot, blender, radio, etc. DW turned on microwave to heat something and EVERYTHING. Shut down. Generator was still running. I shut generator downwaited a bit and restarted it. A/C came back, but no power to any plugs. I suspect GFI popped somewhere, but I can't find it! HELP!! Any suggestions would be appreciated. I'm stumped.
The genny should have circut breakers on it. Sounds like you may have overloaded the circut. Check the breakers on it.
__________________

__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 09:22 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
jeepfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Home is where we park it
Posts: 417
Try the bathroom or outside receptical.
__________________
2007 Allegro 34wa .WH w20 8.1 6speed. Bow tie powered 79 CJ7 or a 2014 Jeep Unlimited Rubicon Toad.
jeepfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 09:28 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Bussman's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 19
1.) Where are the circuit breakers for the Genny? We looked EVERYWHERE! Just flung a glass fuse on the panel above the generator switch, that when pulled just shut it down.

2.) Couldn't find GFI in bathroom or outside. Nothing with a reset button. I assume they look like household GFI's?...

Thanks, for the help, I'll be looking at it later this morning......sigh.....I just love troubleshooting,,,
__________________
Bussman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 09:35 AM   #5
Member
 
grumpy14's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ft.Myers,Fl.
Posts: 95
My bounder has gfi in bathroom outlet plug has a small button in the center
__________________
GRUMPY,5th wife,2cats,89 Bounder,AND BROKE
grumpy14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 09:38 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
johnsonjm209's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 295
GFCI

Sometimes there is an outlet in one of the outside compartments that is a GFCI.
__________________
Joe from Ct.
johnsonjm209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 09:59 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
You have the main breaker panel in the RV and then there should be one or two breakers actually on the generator. They are often on top or over the back edge. You may need to get a flashlight and a mirror to look on the back side.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 10:03 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
BeltoneMagoo's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 400
I have a unit that has a GFI circuit breaker in the main AC panel. They do or did exist. (Just in case you don't find one somewhere else). Good luck!
__________________
BeltoneMagoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 11:35 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Triker56's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,952
What make and model generator and powered with what fuel?

Most Onan has a resettable breaker or two on the generator. Depending on the size.
__________________
99 Discovery 34Q ISB
2014 MKS AWD EcoBoost Toad
Fulltime Since "99"
Triker56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 03:09 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Bussman's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 19
Thanks folks....problem fixed!,,

It is an Onan Marquis 7000. The breakers (2) are on the right hand side of the Genny. I reset both of those, fired it back up and then reset the 4 breakers in the coach. Viola, works!
The folks on this site are tremendous and an invaluable resource for a newbie such as myself. Thanks so much.

Ps. The GFI WAS in the bathroom, the guy I asked to look for it said he didn't see it last night!

All fixed!
__________________

__________________
Bussman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter/Charger power interruptions mtnman49 National RV Owner's Forum 6 11-10-2010 05:59 AM
Pure Power opens Navistar engine research center in South Carolina DriVer Navistar MaxxForce Engine Forum 0 01-26-2010 04:02 PM
Shore Power: Breaker Off before Connecting or Disconnecting Always-RVing MH-General Discussions & Problems 18 11-13-2009 05:10 PM
Loss of power Lynxgolfer Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 22 02-14-2008 07:08 AM
No Eletrical Power from Power Tech Generator Field Trip Newmar Owner's Forum 5 09-27-2005 06:23 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.