Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2014, 07:09 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
No power to TV's

We have a 2011 Serrano 31V and were camping this weekend. After the campfire, we went back inside and turned on the tv--no power. It was working earlier in the afternoon for the football game.

Any ideas? We checked the GFCI, fuses and breakers. All appeared to look good. We don't know if there is more than one GFCI (in the bathroom) though. Both tvs (living room, bedroom) are without power.
There is a tv receptacle breaker, but it looked fine. Should we replace that anyway?
__________________

__________________
31vdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-20-2014, 07:17 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,319
Welcome to the forum! While we're waiting for someone with more specific knowledge of your coach I have a couple questions that might help others.

Are you on shore power?
Are any of the 120volt outlets working?
Did you actually test than reset the GFCI in the BR?
Have you checked the breakers?

Good luck!
__________________

__________________
okcnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 07:35 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Yes, we were on shore power. Disconnected and re-powered up. We have an internal surge protector. We tested the GFCI and a night light that was plugged in, worked fine. All other outlets/appliances were working. No breakers were "popped", but we switched them off and back on. Also looked at fuses, but they seemed fine.

Thanks for your quick response!
__________________
31vdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 08:58 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
mgscott4's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO./Pollock, LA.
Posts: 1,549
Just thinking---If the TV can be seen by the driver, it is plugged into a receptacle that is disconnected when the ignition switch is on, usually through a relay.

Anyway to check the receptacle power or plug the TV into another receptacle
__________________
06 Hurricane 34FT WH W20 Chassis 8.1L 132K, Steersafe, Koni Shocks, DIY Trac Bar, Tri-Metric 2025RV Battery Monitor, 4-6V Batteries, Scan Gauge 2, Crossfires, 735W Solar Morningstar MPPT-60, WG T4 In-Motion Sat, XM Radio, 07 Chevy Malibu Maxx Toad, Falcon 2, Brake Buddy, Escapee
mgscott4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 09:02 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,319
Do you have a meter or AC test light? Check the from Ground/Neutral to the wire coming out of the TV breaker. If you don't have power there than you likely found the problem. You could temporarily swap the breaker with another one just to test. Make sure you're disconnected from shore power just to be safe during the swap.
With the TV's on their own breaker I'm wondering if the inverter could be involved some how? Just thinking out loud.
__________________
okcnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 05:53 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
We'll have it back home this weekend. Thanks for the ideas; I think it's probably the breaker too. Will let you know if that fixes it.
__________________
31vdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 10:02 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Pond Piggies Club
Appalachian Campers
Mid Atlantic Campers
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 4,604
Your TV may operate through your inverter. If it does, check the circuit breaker located on your 12v to 120v inverter.

-Tom
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L

Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 11:59 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,078
Make sure the ignition key is off - that would remove power from the tv circuits if it is on.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 12:11 PM   #9
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom N View Post
check the circuit breaker located on your 12v to 120v inverter.
-Tom
X2
There are 2 pop-out breakers on the face of my inverter.... if either "trip", (pop out), some, (but not all), of my 120VAC receptacles lose power.
Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 12:11 PM   #10
Community Administrator
 
NLOVNIT's Avatar


 
Pond Piggies Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
LA Gulf Coast Campers
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 22,292
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom N View Post
Your TV may operate through your inverter. If it does, check the circuit breaker located on your 12v to 120v inverter.

-Tom
X2, if your TV's are powered by an inverter. You might know if it's your inverter if you unplug your TV(s) from their respective outlets & then plug them into a 110v powered outlet. That's how we figured out our inverter was toast last spring.

Lori-
__________________
Lori & Dave - FMA #3415 | FMCA #F419886 | RV/MH Hall of Fame Lifetime Member
2006 Fleetwood Bounder 36Z & 2014 Honda CRV EX-L AWD, My iRV2 Photo Albums
How is it one careless match can start a forest fire but it takes a whole box to start a campfire?
NLOVNIT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 06:52 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Well, it isn't the breakers. Tested them all and they all worked. Gonna try the idea of plugging into the garage 110 and try the tv. The outlets for both are dead and so is the dvd outlet. Inverter? Another good guess….
__________________
31vdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 08:29 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 93
No other GFCI outlets? Outside? Kitchen? Many have 2.
__________________
GaryWT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 10:57 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,796
I went thru the same thing it is most likely the breaker located on the inverter itself. Mine is located in the front passenger side storage compartment. Just push it back in and everything should work again. You wouldn't even know the breaker is there unless you look for it. It sounds like everything your inverter can run is now not working and that is the same thing that happend to us. You could have been running too much current through one of the receptacles which will trip it.
__________________
Mike & Charlotte
2014 Newmar Canyon Star 3610
Orange County, California
Mike and Cha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 06:12 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Today I figured out the tis are working; the inverter isn't. Thanks Mike and Charlotte. Couldn't get the breaker to reset so it's going to the shop. Not sure how much time is left on the warranty, hopefully it's covered! It's a pure sine wave inverter. I'm guessing they're pricey?
__________________

__________________
31vdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2003.Discovery help no ignition power Alanboss Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 03-28-2014 07:05 AM
No power to coach unless RV is running dvleemin Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 03-27-2014 08:33 PM
Issue with no power @ outlets :( ShineGinny Travel Trailer Discussion 23 01-19-2014 10:24 PM
No DC power to motorhome glow4004 Monaco Owner's Forum 12 12-02-2013 10:22 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.