Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2016, 05:05 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 25
Pac Brake

I own a 2006 holiday endeavor 40' ... the pac brake stopped working on the way home last trip. checked fuse, relay and took apart pac unit and cleaned and lubed to ensure butterfly is operational. still not working. switch lights up but no 5th brake light or braking ...any ideas
__________________

__________________
ronlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-31-2016, 06:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,042
The Coach has to be above 5 mph in order to activate it.........are you moving when you are trying to see if it is working?
__________________

__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 02:38 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 25
pac brake

the pac was working on my last trip home, it stopped working en route to home.
i have replaced both circut breakers and 20 amp fuse . usually when i switch on the pac...the 5th brake light lights up, that is no longer working, nor is the pac brake
__________________
ronlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 05:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronlad View Post
the pac was working on my last trip home, it stopped working en route to home.
i have replaced both circut breakers and 20 amp fuse . usually when i switch on the pac...the 5th brake light lights up, that is no longer working, nor is the pac brake
You are going to have to take a multi-meter and do some checking, starting at the fuse(Power source) and do some troubleshooting with the meter, checking for 12 VDC.
The relay's will be a bit more troublesome to trouble shoot, as they are looking for a signal from the Allison/Cummins ECM's to activate the Pac Brake......
To start with, make sure there is 12 VDC at the fuse supplying power.
__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 07:32 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
barmcd's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,619
Does the Allison shift pad go to 2 when you engage the Pacbrake?
__________________
Dennis and Katherine
2000 Monaco Dynasty
barmcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 04:11 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 25
no the trans retarder will not work as wel,l it usually goes from 6th to 4th when the rpms are within limits and the ecm sends signal to exh brake and trans.
__________________
ronlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 07:32 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
barmcd's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,619
it sounds like you have an issue pretty close to the front of the process. I'd check the brake switch first. DO you have a foot brake or switch on the panel?
__________________
Dennis and Katherine
2000 Monaco Dynasty
barmcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 08:40 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 868
Has the compressor gone out on it? We had a Pac Brake on a dually truck and the compressor that worked with the brake went out and we had to replace it. Not sure if it works the same on a motor home.
__________________
jpharley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 03:02 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 25
called northeast cummins, they seem to think... a broken wire at the ECM plug or a bad ECM, 'im sure it will be costly
__________________
ronlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 04:32 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
barmcd's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpharley View Post
Has the compressor gone out on it? We had a Pac Brake on a dually truck and the compressor that worked with the brake went out and we had to replace it. Not sure if it works the same on a motor home.
The Pacbrake would use the same compressor as the air brakes and suspension no? A dually would have a specific compressor because it doesn't have air brakes or suspension.
__________________
Dennis and Katherine
2000 Monaco Dynasty
barmcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 05:26 PM   #11
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 7,572
"ronlad".....Do a thorough check of the fuses in your run bay. You have the small box(es) under the large fuse box that have fuses for the pacbrake. Also, there is another black box for the Allison.....if you remove the lid, there are several relays inside of that box. I believe there is one or two there for the exhaust brake. The second photo is of the Allison box, you have to remove the screws.

I spent a lot of time running down an exhaust brake issue on my Diplomat.



__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 11:06 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 12,473
Try phoning Pac-Brake service, support, and troubleshooting customer service.
This is their sole mission.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert theConstitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 07:22 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
barmcd's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,619
Since it appears none of the functions work, it should not be difficult to find out where the issue is. I'd start with the switch and see if you have 12 volts at one contact and continuity through it. If you do, then the problem is down stream of the switch so you'd look at the solenoid next. If you don't then the problem is up stream and you go look at fuses and relays.
__________________
Dennis and Katherine
2000 Monaco Dynasty
barmcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 07:44 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
RV735's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 306
Blog Entries: 1
We also had the same problem, the exhaust brake would not activate. After mush thought and inspection I traced the problem to wire in the dash going to the exhaust brake switch was strained and pulled away from the switch. I re positioned the wire reattached to the switch and it has worked for 3 yrs. Hope yours will be as simple!

Safe Travels and THE JOY IS IN THE RIDE
__________________

__________________
2004 Meridian, 2006 Jeep Liberty, Blue Ox, Airforce one
http://rvgr8escape.blogspot.com/
FMCA 403779
RV735 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pac brake with transmission brake? csrrsr Class A Motorhome Discussions 17 02-19-2013 02:12 PM
"Pac Brake" turns brake light on! RickGyver Monaco Owner's Forum 12 03-23-2011 07:00 PM
Brake/Pac Brake/problem or Whatever!! mycoolbeans Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 1 07-26-2010 09:49 PM
Brake Retarder vs. Pac-Brake Gadget Man MH-General Discussions & Problems 9 06-30-2008 09:38 AM
Brake Retarder vs. Pac-Brake Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 9 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.