Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2013, 02:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Tourbustoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 69
Plugged in

Can I start my rig while hooked up to the power to extend my slides completely out, or do I have to unplug? Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Tourbustoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-20-2013, 02:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ramblin's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Ford Super Duty Owner
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,253
I have never heard of any problems starting the engine while plugged in to shore power, however you should not have to just to extend your slides.
__________________

__________________
2002 National Dolphin LX 6356
Workhorse W-22 chassis
Don't believe everything you think.
Ramblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 02:56 PM   #3
Community Moderator
 
bdickson's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wherever the rig is parked
Posts: 7,401
In fact on the two Thor's I have owned the slides are inoperative with the engine running. In any case, running the engine while hooked up to shore power should not cause a problem.
__________________
Bruce Dickson 2013 Thor Challenger 37GT, 5 Star Tune, Safe-T-Plus Steering Control with Air Trim, Roadmaster front and rear Sway Bars, SuperSteer rear Track Bar, Crossfires, 2012 Honda CRV on Blue Ox Aventa LX tow bar. Full timers since Jan 2012.
bdickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 02:57 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Yeah, I don't think you'll have a problem. I assume you want to start the engine because your manual says to have it running when operating the slides to reduce the strain on the batteries? Winnebago suggests this but I sometimes ignore it.

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 04:42 PM   #5
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,253
If your rig will start with the slides extended there should not be a problem.

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 05:46 PM   #6
doc
Senior Member
 
doc's Avatar
 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dixie !! (north Georgia) USA
Posts: 2,953
bdickson has a point. Our slides will not operate with engine running. If we run them out without electric, I crank the genset. Might not be necessary, but I like the idea of the security and not killing batteries with 4 slides to run in or out. Our batteries charge with it running as well.
__________________
doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 05:51 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,211
If you're plugged in and the converter/charger is working, why would you need to start the engine to keep batteries from discharging? But to add to the others, if you don't have an interlock with slides and ignition, running the engine while on shore power should cause no issues.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 05:59 PM   #8
Member
 
Tourbustoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 69
Thank you all for your input. The reason I need to run the engine is because the slides will not extend any other way.
__________________
Tourbustoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 08:20 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,778
On my coach the owners manual states to have engine running when moving slides. I have tries without the engine running. The main slide may or may not move and if it does its even slower. The slide system needs the extra oomph to the batteries to get'er done.

Also when chassis battery started to get tired thesis slide would not come in without a manual push assist. A new battery resolved this issue.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 08:51 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
Depends on your RV.. Mine the slides do not slide with the engine running, but the jack's Don't jack without the engine running.

Now, when it comes to starting the engine while plugged into shore power... no reason not to,, No conflict between them at all.. Only restriction is do not drive more than a couple feet.

In fact.. Due to a small jack problem I level with planks, I will start the motor home and drive it off the plank BEFORE I pull the shore power cord and stow it.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 12:45 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 199
I have a travel trailer and a truck, so your electrical system may be different... if I start my truck with the trailer connected to the 7 pin jack and plugged into shore power, it may or may not blow the 40 amp fusible link that provides battery charge power to the trailer. I've had it happen a couple of times but it usually doesn't. I'm guessing it happens because the trailer tries to charge the truck battery when it is being started.
__________________
bartlettj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 01:31 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bartlettj View Post
I have a travel trailer and a truck, so your electrical system may be different... if I start my truck with the trailer connected to the 7 pin jack and plugged into shore power, it may or may not blow the 40 amp fusible link that provides battery charge power to the trailer. I've had it happen a couple of times but it usually doesn't. I'm guessing it happens because the trailer tries to charge the truck battery when it is being started.
Two ways to solve this issue, put a diode in the circuit to prevent current flow from trailer to truck, or use an automatic reset circuit breaker so it can trip and reset without having to replace fusible link.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 09:20 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA (Stick & Brick)
Posts: 2,623
Our '02 Georgetown doesn't need either the engine or shore power to operate slides or jacks. We have two Costco deep-cycle marine/RV house batteries and they've never even slowed down when running slides and jacks. We normally level then deploy the two slides and re-level as needed. Then I hook up to shore power. Haven't had battery/slide/jack issues in three seasons.

I guess we either have a well-designed system (yeah, sure), two strong batteries or we've been lucky.
__________________
Frank Damp -Anacortes, WA,(DW- Eileen)
ex-pat Brits (1968) and ex-RVers.
frankdamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 04:03 AM   #14
Member
 
Tourbustoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankdamp View Post
Our '02 Georgetown doesn't need either the engine or shore power to operate slides or jacks. We have two Costco deep-cycle marine/RV house batteries and they've never even slowed down when running slides and jacks. We normally level then deploy the two slides and re-level as needed. Then I hook up to shore power. Haven't had battery/slide/jack issues in three seasons.

I guess we either have a well-designed system (yeah, sure), two strong batteries or we've been lucky.
Maybe that's what I need to do! I purchased the MH in Oct '09, and the previous owners had replaced the batteries a year prior; and since I have the room, I think I'm going to go with 4 house batteries! Any thoughts?
__________________

__________________
Tourbustoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.