Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2012, 01:13 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
barlin44's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 192
Portable satellite questions

Hi there,





We are getting ready for a month long trip in a few weeks and I would like to purchase a winegard portable satellite dish and would like to confirm that I can,
  1. Can I bring my direct TV boxes from home? ( I have read many RVers do this )
  2. When setting up the satellite, can I plug in the actual cable from satellite to the exterior outlet wired for park cable? And then have the switch inside set on cable.
  3. Our MH says it is satellite ready or prepped, however it must be on the roof as I do not see another cable outlet anywhere that states satellite. Is there another outlet?
Thanks for any input as I have been watching these portables at CW and they are now on sale again.
__________________

__________________
Barney
Life is nothing but a dream,
We only go around once, so never miss a chance to smile.......
barlin44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-02-2012, 01:29 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bug512's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Warren County, NJ
Posts: 1,334
1) Yes you can. We have done this in the past and now have a dedicated box for the motorhome. We activate and cancel service depending on the time of year.

2) Maybe? In my old travel trailer we needed to make a modification because the signal would not pass through the cable/antenna booster. With a motorhome you should be fine.

3) Call the maker of your motorhome and describe what you want to do. I'm sure this has been asked before.

You also can "make" a dish similar to what I did years ago.


Camper mounted satellite dish by Gene Martel's, on Flickr


Camper mounted satellite dish by Gene Martel's, on Flickr
__________________

__________________
Gene & Ginger
No RV at this time.
04 Winnebago Adventurer 33V, 05 Jayco 23B, 02 Coleman Cheyenne
Bug512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 01:35 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
Be aware that if you use your home DTV service you will likely loose your local network stations as soon as you get outside your home service area. That can be anywhere from 100 miles to 500 miles away, depending on your home market.

joe
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 01:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
barlin44's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 192
Hey Gene,
Thanks for the reply. That is a cool set up you have I like it. I am looking at the automatic portable satellite dish from winegard so it may a bit heavier. You just place it outside and it finds the satellite for you taking away the set up issues. But that is a very clever set up that you did.
I also liked the nascar pictures you have, Thanks for sharing
__________________
Barney
Life is nothing but a dream,
We only go around once, so never miss a chance to smile.......
barlin44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 01:47 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
barlin44's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingDiver View Post
Be aware that if you use your home DTV service you will likely loose your local network stations as soon as you get outside your home service area. That can be anywhere from 100 miles to 500 miles away, depending on your home market.

joe
Hey Joe,
Yes I have heard that, but more concerned of getting nascar and other sports. And the wife loves her American Idol, Voice etc.
Thanks for your input
__________________
Barney
Life is nothing but a dream,
We only go around once, so never miss a chance to smile.......
barlin44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 01:51 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by barlin44 View Post
Hey Joe,
Yes I have heard that, but more concerned of getting nascar and other sports. And the wife loves her American Idol, Voice etc.
Thanks for your input
Idol and Voice are on local networks, so you'll loose them. Nascar on networks you'll loose too - ESPN or SPEED will be OK.

Depending on where you're going, you might be good with reception from your batwing. Otherwise you can call DTV to change your service address. How well that works will depend on how often you move.

joe
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 01:51 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
In my case I have a roof dome unit , and find that the sat signal can be lost due to any light rain coating on the dome, and requires drying , time or a wipe down to restore signal. A portable dome unit would be easier to dry and less vunerable to trees, but I'm sure an open dish provides a better signal . JMHO. I carry a spare dish from home and set it up any time I'm stoped for a multi day stay.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 02:19 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3,225
Some coach builders installed a splitter in that line, to feed the bedroom TV. If that's the way yours is setup, it wont work for the satellite signal.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 02:20 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
barlin44's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 192
Thanks guys,
This trip we will be only a couple hundred miles from home on a camping/fishing trip so should get local channels but if not I will call DTV. I am a little concerned about the dome getting dirty or wet and losing reception however it will be on the ground and away from the MH so I can keep it clean. This winegard automatic portable satellite is usually around 799 and has been on sale for 650, but it is on sale today for 599 so I think I will order it, the stand and a 12volt/AC converter and hope it works as they say..
__________________
Barney
Life is nothing but a dream,
We only go around once, so never miss a chance to smile.......
barlin44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 02:30 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
barlin44's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96 Wideglide View Post
Some coach builders installed a splitter in that line, to feed the bedroom TV. If that's the way yours is setup, it wont work for the satellite signal.
Hey Wideglide,
Interesting I dont know if it does. It appears that the transfer box in the front gives three options for reception which effects all 3 of my tv ports.


The switch can be switched to,
  • Satellite
  • Cable
  • attennae or batwing
But I thing the satellite cable comes from the roof for a mounted dish?
I thought if I hooked into the exterior cable and set the transfer box onto cable and then placed the DTV boxes at the TVs it should work?
Thanks again..
__________________
Barney
Life is nothing but a dream,
We only go around once, so never miss a chance to smile.......
barlin44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 02:33 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3,225
Is there a seperate coax up there that feeds the bedroom TV?
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 03:48 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
barlin44's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96 Wideglide View Post
Is there a seperate coax up there that feeds the bedroom TV?
Nope there sure aint..only one cable leaves the switch box to the TV. So I guess it won't work and even a roof mounted dish would not work seperately to each TV.
Thanks for the input...well back to the drawing board
__________________

__________________
Barney
Life is nothing but a dream,
We only go around once, so never miss a chance to smile.......
barlin44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Watch Satellite TV Programs Outside Your RV Wirelessly! goreds2 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 22 09-15-2012 07:36 AM
surge guard: hardwired or portable? dick skeers Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 17 04-02-2012 10:21 PM
Winegard HD satellite dish BigSkyBob Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 7 04-02-2012 08:59 AM
Upgrading satellite TV antenna asodergren Jayco Owner's Forum 6 04-01-2012 05:59 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.