Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2011, 11:34 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 626
Power Outlets- is this normal?

I have read through my 300 page owners manual several times and have seemed to miss this if it is even contained in the manual.

I guess the only way to utilize the power outlets is to have the generator running or RV plugged into an outlet?

I know the t.v. and stereo is wired to a convertor so they always have power. But we noticed yesterday that the only way we could get power to the outlets was to have the generator running while tailgating.

This was bit of a snafu going down the highway while trying to keep whipped potatoes warm in a crock pot.
__________________

__________________
EricGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-25-2011, 11:38 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Castle Rock Co USA
Posts: 382
The outlets are 110v ac-the only way to have that voltage is to be plugged into a source that provides that.
__________________

__________________
2011 Montana-3400RL
Towed by[B]'99 F-350 SD PSD DRW Lariat
RichR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 11:47 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 626
OK, that what I was thinking.
So in other words, I need to have the generator running while going down the road.
__________________
EricGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 11:50 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
radams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 398
It can't be said for certain without knowing what rig you have. There are rigs set up the way you describe and that condition would be normal. There are others where that would not be normal. More details are needed.
__________________
radams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 11:55 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 626
Well, that is the way mine works. We had no power to the AC outlets until I fired up the generator. They always have power at home because I keep the coach plugged into an outlet.

We do have one outlet that has battery power for the t.v. and stereo. But I believe the previous owner did that with an invertor/convertor(?).

I was merely asking thinking maybe there is a switch or something in the compartment that allows me to run the outlets off the coach batteries.
__________________
EricGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 12:07 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
radams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 398
Yes, if you have power to those devices with no shore or generator power then you have an inverter that is drawing power from a battery(s) and converting it to 120VAC. However, depending on your setup the inverter may be able to supply power to other outlets as well. There are many variations thus the question about what you have. If it was added by a previous owner then it's anyone's guess as to how it was wired in.
__________________
radams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 01:00 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,322
Hi EricGT,
Year, Brand and model of coach would help to clinch a yes or no to the replies posted so far.

An Inverter is what is powering your TV. If you can find the inverter and tell us the rated WATTs, that would be great. It should be on the label or in the package of instructions. Lastly, how many batteries do you have for coach power (no engine starting, just coach)?
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 01:06 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
HD4Mark's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marathon, Florida
Posts: 2,894
In our MH not all of the outlets are connected to the inverter. One way to check would be to unplug, don't run the generator, turn on the inverter and check each outlet with a voltage tester or a lamp. Your circuit breakers that are on the inverter may also be labeled.
__________________
Mark & Nancy
2004 Winnebago Vectra 40KD
Shep dog, R.I.P. Kenzie dog Toad 2015 Jeep Wrangler Willys Wheeler
HD4Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 04:46 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,811
There are several different ways that motor homes with inverters are wired (OH, Converters convert 120vac to 12vdc,, INverters do.. the INverse)

Some the inverter ONLY runs the entainerment center
Some (mine for example. though mine is an after market inverter) the 2kw inverter I have runs the entainermnt centers, Microwave and GFCI chain (Bathrooms, kitchen, patio)

Some it runs dang near everythign save the air conditioners.

Some.. It runs EVERYTHING. but I do not recommend that.

Many crock pots are non=electronic That is they are a basic resistor, no fancy timers or anything like that.. Work great on MSW inverters, very low cost. get one at least 25% larger than what' printed on the crock pot.. (IE if the crock pot says 750 watts, get a 1KW inverter) and wire it DIRECTLY to the batteries with short, heavy cables (OK, put in the proper fuse)
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 05:29 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Aguyfromcalg's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 859
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricGT
Well, that is the way mine works. We had no power to the AC outlets until I fired up the generator. They always have power at home because I keep the coach plugged into an outlet.

We do have one outlet that has battery power for the t.v. and stereo. But I believe the previous owner did that with an invertor/convertor(?).

I was merely asking thinking maybe there is a switch or something in the compartment that allows me to run the outlets off the coach batteries.
Hi Eric:
I believe your tv and stereo could be running off an small factory installed inverter. If your tv and stereo is plugged into a wall type plug try this. Unplug both the tv and stereo and plug in some other electronic device. If it works then you know what you have. I don't think there will be a switch to provide inverter power to other plugs. If the electronic device can't be plugged in or won't operate then both your tv and stereo are operating off D C (battery) power.
Pat
__________________
2010 Coachmen Freelander 30QB E450 V10
Have Kids Will Travel
Aguyfromcalg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 07:25 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryKD View Post
Hi EricGT,
Year, Brand and model of coach would help to clinch a yes or no to the replies posted so far.

An Inverter is what is powering your TV. If you can find the inverter and tell us the rated WATTs, that would be great. It should be on the label or in the package of instructions. Lastly, how many batteries do you have for coach power (no engine starting, just coach)?
It is a Vector Max 700 watt (1400 peak) marine power inverter. The batteries (2) are Deep Cycle 350C @ $219.99 each FWTW.
Oh, and it's a 2002 Monaco McKenzie Rogue.
__________________
EricGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 07:35 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,322
Hi EricGT,
Thanks for the info. 700 WATTS doesn't go very far. Factory or after market you're safe to assume the inverter powers only what it is now connected to. Combine the 700 WATTS with only two coach batteries and what one can run is very limited.

I have a 600 WATT inverter and 4 coach batteries. Newmar wired my coach with about 1/2 the outlets through the inverter. While this may sound great, it has taken a lot of education with the wife and Gkids on what can and can not be plugged into these outlets when not connected to shore power or the generator running.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 08:11 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 626
So, I guess I should be satisfied with satellite receiver, tv, and stereo then.
__________________
EricGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 07:43 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Bill2's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere on the road
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricGT View Post
So, I guess I should be satisfied with satellite receiver, tv, and stereo then.
You probably could power a few smaller items but not much. Just run the generator and be happy. I have a 2,000 watt inverter with 4 coach batteries and I can run the crock pot going down the road with the inverter. We can also make a pot of coffee on it. The larger the inverter and battery bank, the more you can run without the generator. I don't know of any coach that can run the air conditioners without the generator. Well maybe there are some with two inverters and a lot of batteries.
Bill
__________________

__________________
Bill O'Dell,Retired U.S. Army, Retired LEO, 2014 Tiffin, Phaeton, QBH, 2011 Jeep Grand Cherakee LTD
Bill2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DayBreak 2nd AC power mod. Mafiaman Damon 7 05-08-2017 12:00 PM
120V refrigerator with a power inverter?- Can be done? Quest RV Systems & Appliances 25 04-15-2011 01:23 PM
Power Dometic Awning flops a lot...even in a mild breeze..normal?? StansCustoms Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 23 11-24-2010 08:47 AM
Generator/Shore power - voltage indicator question jbobst National RV Owner's Forum 11 10-21-2010 11:44 AM
power outlets Mich Travel Trailer Discussion 2 03-09-2006 10:13 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.