Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 12-03-2014, 02:15 PM   #1

Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
American Coach Owners Club
Pre-purchase Inspection on RVs?

Hi All,

As you see from my info and the large number of posts (read that with a bit of tongue-in-cheek), I'm relatively new to the IRV2 forum. I have really enjoyed it and used it to help educate myself on this brave new world or Rving.

My lovely bride (of 37+ years) and I in October 2014 purchased a new to us 2003 Revolution 40C which is also our first MH. It took use several months of searching and learning what we could about MHs before we finally decided this was "the one".

We had worked toward the purchase of two other MHs but in retrospect, it was good those deals fell apart. I know we wouldn't have been as happy with the other ones as we are with this one. Guess we some how followed advice we read online that you should try to make your first MH the one that normally takes people three tries to get the right one for them.

With that as a backdrop, I've read many other posts where people are looking at used MHs. It can be a tough task to determine if the MH is a good one especially, if you're buying from a private seller. Hopefully, if you buy one from a dealer, they'll have corrected many of the issues and will stand behind the MH after the sale.

Please note that I'm not a vendor and the following is just my musings on RV inspections.

When you buy a stick home, it's pretty much a sure thing that you'll have a home inspection but never heard about the same thing for a MH. Wouldn't that be a good service?