Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2014, 04:15 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Lincolnboy2's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Grand Prairie, TX (DFW)
Posts: 3,536
Also, here are some links that might help...

Progressive Industries RV Power Protection

Progressive Industries RV Power Protection

Remote EMC Display Location
__________________

__________________
Kent - '03 Fleetwood Storm Ford F-53 V-10
With Susie (Lhasa); Angie (Shorkie) Ferbie (ShihTzu)
In Memoriam: Katie, Spencer and Zoey
Lincolnboy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-10-2014, 06:43 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,275
I installed a 30 amp hard wired unit in my trailer and it is great. The remote display is worth it also. It scrolls through a sequence of checks and will give you peace of mind that everything is ok. The unit is user serviceable and it is easily done by anyone. If you can install a light switch you can install the hard wire unit. One use for the remote display, some one takes a shower and uses up all the hot water, just wait until the amps being drawn goes back down to 3 or 4 and you know the element in the tank has shut off and you're good to go. No hassles with hook up like a portable unit and someone can't come by and steal it.
__________________

__________________
09 harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 10:05 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Lincolnboy2's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Grand Prairie, TX (DFW)
Posts: 3,536
I tried to post this picture of my remote EMS display unit with the post yesterday but kept getting an error....here it is....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	EMS REMOTE.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	195.8 KB
ID:	55887  
__________________
Kent - '03 Fleetwood Storm Ford F-53 V-10
With Susie (Lhasa); Angie (Shorkie) Ferbie (ShihTzu)
In Memoriam: Katie, Spencer and Zoey
Lincolnboy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 10:22 AM   #18
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Here's my 2 cents worth of opinion for your situation.

First, think about whether you may upgrade to a different RV sometime later that may have 50 amp service. If so then I would invest in the 50 amp model.

Second, if you are not handy with electrical stuff, then have the service people do the installation. Their labor rate is average and two hours is correct.

Third, if you are handy and could do the installation yourself, then there are web sites with these units for sale that are probably cheaper than what the shop would charge you for the unit.

Just do a Google search for the specific model that you end up deciding to purchase.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 10:11 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Rossi6998's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 580
After much research, I also purchased the portable 30 Amp version because of the features and lifetime warranty. I have not used it yet; however, my intention is to connect it to the power cord and lock the device in the compartment. Then, run a 30 Amp extension cord from the compartment to the RV Park power plug.
__________________
Rossi6998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 10:24 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Barbara S.'s Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbus, TX
Posts: 1,708
Send a message via Skype™ to Barbara S.
Many, many years ago I bought the 30 amp portable unit and have been very happy with it. Last year I bought a motorhome with 50 amp service so the first thing I bought was a 50 amp portable unit. The first one that they sent didn't work and Progressive immediately sent a replacement (before I could even return the defective unit). I kept the 30 amp unit (glad I did) and have used it several times at places where I had only 30 amp service available. I like having the portable units and highly recommend Progressive Industries.
__________________
Barbara Spade
Jaymie (Sheltie/Pom) and Luke (Sheltie/mix)
35' Sea View (Class A) MH & Honda CR-V toad.
Good Sam Charter Life member/FMCA/SI/Escapees/Thousand Trails
Barbara S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 11:42 PM   #21
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,278
Here's something I learned the other day when researching the Progressive unit. The 50 amp WITH THE DISPLAY, has a bypass in case there is a problem with the unit. The 50 amp WITHOUT THE DISPLAY has a wire you have to insert to bypass the unit during a failure. I bought the display unit.
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 09:31 AM   #22
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutch Star Don View Post
Here's something I learned the other day when researching the Progressive unit. The 50 amp WITH THE DISPLAY, has a bypass in case there is a problem with the unit. The 50 amp WITHOUT THE DISPLAY has a wire you have to insert to bypass the unit during a failure. I bought the display unit.

Thanks for the tip Don!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 09:42 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,033
The bypass also allows one to run a portable generator since part of the EMS is to check for unprotected grounds and portable generators are usually not grounded. The bypass only disables part of the functions. Still works as a surge protector. Ours is hard wired and was installed during build.
__________________
jpharley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 12:09 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Janesville, wi
Posts: 633
Oh My.... Us out west.. I surely hope you sanitized that water faucet before you connected the hose. Campground should never put water right next to sewer. Bad design.
__________________
Tom3205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 02:35 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Us out West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom3205 View Post
Oh My.... Us out west.. I surely hope you sanitized that water faucet before you connected the hose. Campground should never put water right next to sewer. Bad design.

but not a problem Tom....thanks.
__________________
2012 Pinnacle 36KPTS - Kitchen Pantry Triple Slide
2009 Silverado 3500 CC LB
Our Trip Journal
Us out West is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 06:29 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
99-Am.Star's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,138
I have the Progressive 30 Amp portable. It came with my 5er when I purchased it used. One of the LED lights was out, so I called Progressive and asked if they would fix it even though I did not purchase it. They told me to send it in and shipped a rebuilt unit to my house NO CHARGE. They will be getting my business when I get my next 5er. I'll need a 50 Amp for that.....
__________________

__________________
1999 NEWMAR American Star (for sale) SOLD !!![* Newmar Kountry Kklub # 19708 * THOUSAND TRAILS * 2006 Chevy 3500 Dually Dmax/Ally SOLD* Curt Q20 (For Sale)* Prodigy P2 *US ARMY 1965-1967 * Disabled Vietnam Veteran 1966-1967 * Life Member VFW *
99-Am.Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winnebago Industries Promotes Brion Brady to WinnebagoTowables National Sales Manager DriVer RV Industry Press 0 10-24-2013 09:43 AM
EMS and Portable Generators StmbtRubi New Horizons Owners Forum and NHOG 1 10-09-2013 04:17 PM
Winnebago Industries Launches Exciting NEW Products at Hershey RV Show DriVer RV Industry Press 0 09-09-2013 11:04 AM
Winnebago Industries Towables Introduces the New 2014 Sunnybrook Raven DriVer RV Industry Press 0 08-28-2013 03:56 PM
Winnebago Industries Dealer Open House Event DriVer RV Industry Press 0 07-24-2013 10:21 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.