RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2017, 10:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 39
Progressive Industries EMS-HW30C Hard-Wired Portable Electrical Management System - 3

I'm purchasing this unit for my new Axis. For those of you who have one of these did you mount the display inside your MH or is it acceptable to mount it next to the unit itself?
What are the advantages or disadvantages of each?
Thanks
__________________

sforl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-17-2017, 11:01 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 14,409
Have never felt the need for the remote display. Usually you will find a power problem when first plugging into a CG pedistal. On the rare occasion that power is blocked after then, being able to see the display on the unit itself is fine.

I do have a Kill-a-Watt meter that plugs into a kitchen outlet - all the remote monitoring I feel a need to have, and also useful for determining power consumption of individual devices.
__________________

__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 11:29 AM   #3
Senior Member


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4,425
sforl-

Here's a link to a recent iRV2 thread on locations for the remote.
__________________
Mark
2008 Holiday Rambler Admiral 30PDD (Ford F-53 chassis)
2009 Honda Fit Sport
l1v3fr33ord1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: On the road
Posts: 239
Mine is mounted in the compartment where to power comes in, just check it when plugging in. In last rig it was inside, and only once or twice was there a ned to check it after initial connection. I may eventually move this one as well, but no immediate plans.
__________________
'13 Ram Laramie 3500, Aisin auto,4:10, Reese adapter and 20K hitch, '10 HitchHiker 36LKRSB
Larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 09:27 AM   #5
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 39,542
My display is temporarily mounted just inside a storage bay door, but I plan to eventually move it inside. Another one of those "when I get around to it" thingys!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 10:40 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Mid Atlantic Campers
Coastal Campers
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,615
I bought the 50A unit for mine, and couldn't find an easy way to route the cable up into the coach for the remote display. So I 'temporarily' mounted it in an easy to see spot in the electrical bay. I figured I'd move it later when I had more time to fish the wire up.

As others have indicated, 99% of the time I want to look at it, is when I plug in and the electrical bay is exactly where it needs to be. "IF" I had one inside the coach, I'd only do it if it was a 2nd one with the primary in the elec bay.

My 'temporary' has become the 'permanent' spot.....works great there.
__________________
DaveB, Raleigh, NC
2015 Tiffin RED 33AA, w/Honda CRV
VMSpc, Magnum BMK/ARC50
Kiawah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 10:42 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Polyian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSHappyCampers View Post
My display is temporarily mounted just inside a storage bay door, but I plan to eventually move it inside. Another one of those "when I get around to it" thingys!
I'm installing mine this weekend and I'll be doing the same, probably use velcro and save a project for later...but those round tuit's are sometimes hard to find...LOL

Cheers
__________________
2013 Newmar BayStar Sport 2901
5 Star Tune, EEZ TPMS
Toad: 2018 Corolla IM 6 speed, Roadmaster Tow Equipment
Polyian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 12:09 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
xrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: "Murvil", TN
Posts: 1,104
Not hard to find at all........

xrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 11:39 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 596
I have the display inside the TT so I can monitor the load and avoid tripping the 30A breaker, as I can't use the electrical water heater, AC and microwave all at once.
marcham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 09:04 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
TexasPSDX's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Katy, Texas 77494
Posts: 623
I too have the 50A in my trailer. Bought the splitter they have available. Mounted 1 display in the electric bay and the 2nd in the cabinet with the slide switches.
__________________

__________________
Ron & Ellen Norton
2012 Tiffin Allegro Bus 40QBP
2017 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Unlimited
TexasPSDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, ems



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Progressive industries 50A hard wired surge protector remote display Jeff753 RV Systems & Appliances 18 07-24-2014 09:14 AM
EMS: Portable or Hard-Wired TXBart Entegra Owner's Forum 21 01-10-2014 05:07 AM
Progressive Industries 50 Amp Portable Electrical Management System adonh Class A Motorhome Discussions 43 08-09-2013 10:45 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×