Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-21-2011, 08:20 PM   #1

Questions

Hi All! Long-time reader, first-time poster.

I'm a complete NOOB. Last year we purchased a used pop-up to get us off the ground and into a camper. I have a love/hate relationship with it so we've decided that we're going to upgrade at the end of this camping season when the prices are cheaper. We're not sure if we want a TT or a motorhome.

Before we do, I have a some questions and some clarifications that I've been searching for on here, but I haven't seen exact answers for and Google searches are largely unhelpful. I'm numbering them so you can just post the number and answer if you like.

1. In a motorhome if it has dash air and roof air, I assume the dash air does not cool the entire rig. Do you run the generator when you're driving or is there some magic that runs the rooftop air?

2. Does the toilet work when your'e driving...so if I'm a passenger and I need to potty I can just go in and have at it (Aim notwithstanding?)

3. If we go with the cabover motorhome, is there a weight limit for the cabover bed? I'd hate for that to be the only bed and us be over the weight limit.

4. We have friends who have a 5th wheel and they refrain from using the toilet for solid waste because they say it's easier to just use the campground facilities for #2 and the camper toilet for #1. Is this true? Is there a non-gross way around this? How do you broach this subject with people? I have been embarrassed to ask people just out of the blue.