Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2012, 10:52 PM   #1
TAZ
Senior Member
 
TAZ's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Heaven's Scene
Posts: 803
Running two AC's on 30 amps

Has anyone tried one of these to run two AC unitson one 30 amp circiut?

http://www.parallaxpower.com/ALS%2020/ALS%2020.pdf

I am not sure if the shed load would ever run the second ac or if only one would run at a time.
__________________

__________________
2010 Damon Daybreak 3204 Sport, bunkhouse with Jeep Wrangler toad.

Improvise, adapt and overcome... "Semper Fi"
TAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-03-2012, 12:22 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
LVJ58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 2,146
Our coach has 2 Dometic BriskAir units and we've run both on 30amps. When both are running, we shut off our electric power to water heater, coffee maker and don't use microwave. However we leave refrigerator running on AC.

You can probably check the specifications of the type you have to find out what the start and run amperage draw is and that will give you a better idea as to whether you can run both safely on 30amps without tripping a circuit breaker.

Good luck
__________________

__________________
Jim & SherrySeward

2000 Residency 3790 v10 w/tags 5 Star tune & Banks system Suzuki XL7 toad
LVJ58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 12:26 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 1,201
We run our 2 Colemans on 30 amps whenever we have to. together on full cooling they draw 23 amps.

Jim
__________________
Jim and Lynda, (Sophie, Jake, attack trained killer Shi-Tzus :-))

2003 Fleetwood Expedition 38N 2005 Saturn Vue
jlfbatonrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 01:11 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,452
We regularly run our two Penguin heat pumps on 30 amps with out much problem, that is till your wife tries to run the microwave at the same time!
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 06:25 AM   #5
TAZ
Senior Member
 
TAZ's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Heaven's Scene
Posts: 803
I was thinking about adding a hard star capacitor to each unit to lessen the startup load. My fear is tripping thenbreaker if the both start at the same time. I don't want to come back from a walk to find our lab in 100+deg coach

Thanks for the input.
__________________
2010 Damon Daybreak 3204 Sport, bunkhouse with Jeep Wrangler toad.

Improvise, adapt and overcome... "Semper Fi"
TAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 07:41 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
sc3283's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,126
Both my 13.5k Dometics run fine on 30 amp service. Each pulls just under 12 amps when comp on/fan high speed
__________________
sc3283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 07:43 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
You may already have hard start capacitors in the a/c - many, if not most, of them do.

Do you have an energy mgmt system (EMS) that will shed loads if over 30A? They work quite well and rarely ever let a breaker trip.

However, odds are the EMS will prevent the 2nd a/c from starting its compressor much of the time, so only the fans will run until the 1st cycles its compressor off. The compressor start load tends to push the total amperage over 30 long enough to trigger the load shedding. On my coach, the 2nd a/c will get its compressor running only about 1 of 4 tries, but if it does, they run fine together at a total of about 27 amps. To do that, I have to set fridge and water heater to propane mode.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 07:43 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Wizard's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Home on the hill in Georgia
Posts: 2,457
Not sure about your coach but on our previous Winnebago Brave, it had 2 different size AC units, the rear was smaller so it would draw less amps and could run both on 30 amps. We also would turn off the water heater and not use the microwave although the EMS would turn off on unit if I did turn on one of those.
__________________
Jerry & Patsy Potter, Taz & Jake Jr.
2000 Winnebago Journey
2006 Ford Explorer 4X4
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 09:02 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,116
Taz, that device seems to do, in part, what my EMS does. Don't see any reason it wouldn't work for your app.

Like I and others do to run both ACs, we do need to reduce other loads to keep both ACs running.

What appeals more to me, even with EMS, is to tap into the 20A circuit from the gennie (which generally only feeds the rear AC). You run a 20A cord to the pedistal along with your 30A. Now you have a full 30A for the coach, and a dedicated 20A for the rear AC.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 10:15 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,799
From the manual the ALS 20 will let one or the other run off a 20 amp branch but never both.. A true EMS system that also monitors the water heater, refrigerator, microwave and such and sheds loads as needed, ,, Would be a much better choice,

Generally.. I find Parallex products...lacking in ability, this one is no exception.

Now, that said.. I have, on 2 occasions (Well 2 locaitons) ran both A/C's on one 30 amp. NOTHING else, (Well the converter and some small electronics) my two Carrier V's (origial motors) drew 27 amps, the exact limit for a 30 amp breaker.

I have since replaced one blower motor.. I am not sure but I think it might draw just a touch less power. (perhaps 26.5 amps for the pair)

I do not have an EMS though. I do that myself.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 09:18 PM   #11
TAZ
Senior Member
 
TAZ's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Heaven's Scene
Posts: 803
Thanks everyone. I do not have an ems and i am thinking abiut a second 20 amp line. A couple of my favorite campgrounds have the 20 amp on a common circiut with the 30 amp. Just an extra breaker off the 30 amp feed. So I am looking on how to run off of 30 amps max. I dont fave a read ac but the rig is wired and plummed for a second ducted unit. With the big windshield poinred south in the summer it does cook. The one unit struggles.

This summer I plan to add the second unit as well as electric heat element for the fall.
__________________

__________________
2010 Damon Daybreak 3204 Sport, bunkhouse with Jeep Wrangler toad.

Improvise, adapt and overcome... "Semper Fi"
TAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinions on Firestone Transforce HT tires EMD_Driver 5th Wheel Discussion 16 04-25-2012 04:39 PM
Dash AC repairs Danorske Damon 8 04-13-2012 08:52 PM
ST tires on a dually? EMD_Driver Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 18 04-13-2012 10:07 AM
Help on locating Freightliner hub cover 22" Suncircles Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 14 04-07-2012 11:48 AM
Grand Canyon and then East on 64 to UT jeeprubi Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 2 04-05-2012 01:24 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.