Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2011, 05:54 PM   #15
Open-Road-Pr's Avatar
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near Grand Bend, Ontario
Posts: 58
We had two 30 amp outlets installed by a local electrician. One to the side of my garage where the slab is for our MH and one to the other side at the front of the garage to be used by any friends of ours that stop over with their RV's.

Ron & Elaine, '05 Scottsdale 32' F53,
Eze Tow, '13 Focus.
Open-Road-Pr is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-11-2011, 04:12 PM   #16
Senior Member
Cougarkid's Avatar
Freightliner Owners Club
Overland Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Missouri
Posts: 599
We are set up beside an office/garage we rented. 200amp service to the garage.
Installed a 50amp outlet on the wall, wired to the box. Plugged in.
Checked your codes. I was able to do mine myself. Electricity is no biggy for me.
Have water hooked up and used a "Sewer Solution" setup to run sewer thru wall. Had to tap into a sink drain at floor level for the sewer.

We are living in our "old" rv while I fix up the "new" one. Garage is nice for car work, too.

I installed a 50amp plug on the side of our garage at our house we had before. Would plug in for repair work and from time to time when inlaws came over.

Mike and Carla
1998 42' Overland Larado Diesel Pusher
On the road - here and there - Full Timing
Cougarkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 01:42 PM   #17
Senior Member
TonyDi's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Posts: 6,238
Flukey I have always just used a 20 amp circuit from my home to connect to the motorhome. I use it to keep the batteries charged and an occasional light. If I have to use the AC, which is very rare I will start the generator. It's a good idea to run the generator on a schedule. Installing a 30 or 50 amp circuit is overkill and a waste of money
Tony & Ruth........... FMCA#F416727
Newmar Dutch Star 4320, Spartan MM Chassis, Cat C9, Jeep Grand Cherokee,with Hemi, hooked up with a Blue Ox Aventa LX, and Brake Buddy.
TonyDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 01:39 PM   #18
Senior Member
Commercial Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Erath, Louisiana
Posts: 155
50 AMP hook up

I live in a small town and was able to do my own wiring. The first thing to do is install a 50 Amp Rv box and receptical in the place you want it. Then run conduit from the 50 amp box all the way to your electric entrance miter box. If your regulations allow it, you pull the miter head and make up the connection to the bottom of the meter head lugs. This will not pull electricity from your limited house braker box. I hooked up two 50 Amp Rv boxes at my house. One where I permanent park my Rv and one to the front corner of my house. The one where I permanent park also has water and sewage hook ups. This one I ran from my work shop which is on a 100 Amp service. The one on the front of my house has two functions. One for any guest who would need it and the other is on the Fourth Of July, I park my RV along the front of my property and pulg it in so all my company has acsess to it for kids and rest room. both of the a/c's are on and it is nice for the young parants of infants to sit inside and watch the parade's. It gets about 105 degrees down south in July. We also use the awning for shade. Hope this helps. If you are not sure of yourself hire a license electrician and find out your local town laws.
Paw John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 02:54 PM   #19
Senior Member
GaryKD's Avatar
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 11,772
The coach sleeps next to the house. Concrete pad and full hookups. I increased the total AMPS into the house to 400 AMPS (all electric house). Ran a double pole 50 AMP breaker on a dedicated line to the pad with a weather protected outlet. This line has a separate master breaker from the meter. The entire line is dedicated to just the coach. City water and sewer are right next to the coach.
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 01:00 PM   #20
Senior Member
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21,178
3 ways to hook up to house

Very limited: Use a whatever size RV you have to 15 amp adapter from your favorite supplier (CW, Dealer, Wal Mart, Whomever)

Better: install a proper TT-30 outlet, MAKE VERY SURE IT IS 120 VOLT before you plug in,, NOTE: many stories of folks who hired that job done by a profresional who DID IT WRONG, and at least one by a do-for-himself who did it wrong. The reason tehy do it wrong is they can not tell it from a 240 volt outlet so they think "Dryer" or "Welder" or some such and fry all your electronics.

Best: Have a 50 amp outlet installed, and use an adapter if needed. 50 amp

This is best for 2 reaons:

1: If you ever upgrade to a 50, you are all set
2: They are 4-wire 120/240 volt with ground, and the odds of a pro messing that up is .. fairly low.. NOTE: NOT IMPOSSIBLE, Just very low. Very very low.
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 04:21 PM   #21
Senior Member
DutchStar38's Avatar

Newmar Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sarasota,FL
Posts: 448
Had an electrician install a new breaker box in garage from house main breaker box then installed an all weather 50amp plug on outside garage wall for RV. The nice thing about the new breaker box is there is room for additional breakers if needed. Also, had a 50amp all weather plug installed at my daughters house for when we visit. RV is parked within 3 feet of the side of the garage when not traveling.
Lynda & Ronny Sarasota, Florida
2005 DutchStar DP 3809
Sammy (Brussels Griffon\Maltese)
TJ (Teacup Poodle 2.7 lbs)
DutchStar38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 09:30 PM   #22
Senior Member
Wolfpack Fan's Avatar
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 851
Originally Posted by Popcorn Man View Post
Flukey, Yes you can depending on amps of outlet you plug into. I take my 50amp cord and put on a plug reducer to 30amp and then put on a 15 amp reducer so it will plug into a 15 amp outlet which is in my garage. REMEMBER you can only turn on 15amps of electric usage in the RV. NO airconditioner! I just use it to keep house batteries charged and a few odds and ends.
I do the exact same thing with no problems whatsoever. Motorhome is the only thing running on that 15 amp breaker when we're doing it. Keeps the batteries charged nicely and can run a TV and dvd player when we want to backyard camp. Microwave works ok as well as long as nothing else is running at the time. Can run heater too, so long as we set it for gas heat.

I could wire a 30 or 50 pretty easilly if I wanted to. I wired my indoor hot tub beyond code. I just don't feel like substituting with compact breakers and shifting all the breakers on the bus bar. I'm not an electrician, but I did it in the Army.
Wolfpack Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 09:44 PM   #23
Senior Member
w6pea's Avatar
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chula Vista, Mexifornia
Posts: 939
Originally Posted by sdennislee View Post
Had electrician run a 50 amp service out to the pad where I park the RV. Next had plumber run a both fresh water and sewer connections.

Now if I can get the DW to allow me cut down one tree and pour a concrete pad.

I bet that if you beg and bow a little your "She Who Must be Obeyed" will allow it. Now if only I could get my HOA Gestapo Nazi's to allow it I would be set. I already have the sewer connection but my "She Who Must be Obeyed" will not allow me to bring the RV here to our condo to dump the tanks.
Remember "Without Truck's......America Stops" RVM129
"Take me to the Brig. I want to see the "Real Marines".
Major General Chesty Puller, USMC -
"Semper Fi"
w6pea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 09:50 PM   #24
Senior Member
historyljc's Avatar
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 5,173
We had an electrican put in a 30 amp box with breaker for the MH which we park in our driveway. It not hard to hook-up the water where it sits. I put in a sewer drain but because of its location we have to use it as a dump station. If I need to dump the tanks I put the 40' extension hose on my 21' sani-can hose to reach the sewer connection then pump and flush the tanks.

Travel well, travel safe,
2006 Tiffin Phaeton - 2011 Cadillac SRX
historyljc is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounder: Chassis and house battery question classic60 Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 5 07-23-2011 11:17 AM
House batteries not charging off 110 - help! Ksnowdog Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 04-26-2011 09:46 PM
Charging House Batteries itdave Monaco Owner's Forum 7 04-19-2010 10:37 PM
Winnebago Accepts IA House Resolution in Celebration of RV Centenial DriVer RV Industry Press 0 03-22-2010 03:19 PM
Actual Dog House (bow-wow!) For Generator SoundProofing! kctrading 5th Wheel Discussion 7 11-23-2008 10:04 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.