Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-21-2016, 05:54 PM   #1

Holiday Rambler Owners Club
RV Insurance for Owners planning to rent

Hi all, I did some searching on the forum but didn't find what I am looking for, although a lot of great info here.

I am new to RVing, we just purchased our first RV, a 98 HR Endeavor 37wds, so far we love it.

We purchased with the intent of renting it out when not in use. My issue is finding insurance to cover me/the RV while being rented. MBA insurance was the likely choice but they only insure vehicles 10 years old and newer which was a let down.

I have searched everywhere and find plenty of companies that will insure personal use (I am currently through progressive) but none that allow renters and will provide me coverage if something happens that is our fault and not the fault of the person renting it.

I plan to ensure (no pun intended) all that rent it have insurance through their auto policy or a rider is purchased (again many companies that do that from what I can tell). But that won't cover me if it is something that is not their fault, i.e. engine blows up, starting a fire....and progressive will not allow renters on their insurance...i.e. I/rv is not covered then.