Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 05-22-2014, 03:44 PM   #1
Monaco Owners Club
Scam alert

I have been reviewing various ads for the past 3 months in order to purchase a used DP, 36'-40', 1998-2003. Several times I have read on this site, "if it sounds too good to be true it probably is" and that has definitely proven to be the case. Anyway, I thought I would post one scam that seems to be very prevalent on two sites, RV Registry and RV Classified. It works like this. The ad is almost always a 2003 Monaco, low mileage and lots of pictures showing a very clean and attractive unit. When you call you rarely connect with someone, most of the time you get a recording asking you to leave a number or email address. When you are contacted or reach someone you will be told the individual has owned the unit for 2-3 years, is the second owner and needs to sell the unit because of a financial crunch or they don't use it enough. They will also tell you they own a trucking company and don't have time to deal with the sale so they have hired a marketing company to place ads and that is why you may see the MH advertised in various locations. They will also volunteer to send you many pictures by email and answer any questions you have after you see the pictures. The pictures will look great and when you call back or return email to set an appointment they will tell you because of the excellent value they are offering they will hold the unit for you or your representative to inspect if you forward a deposit to the holding company they have hired. Several times I have been told they are using Google Holding or Ebay Holding and that you have 7-10 days to inspect the unit and if you or you