Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2012, 02:11 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Shore Power

I'm plugged into a 50 amp shore power plug with the correct voltage but my coach will only allow a 30 amp load. has anyone ever had this problem and what did you do to correct it? Is there a fuse or relay that needs replacing or maybe the automatic transfer switch isn't working properly?

Beachjumper
__________________

__________________
Beachjumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-22-2012, 02:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
HTFireMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hickory Tavern, SC
Posts: 258
Check breakers. It sounds like something is tripped.
__________________

__________________
HTFireMedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 02:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
puttin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,284
Are you sure you have both hot legs active from the pedestal? It may say 50a. but one leg might not be working. Try another pedestal if you have an extention cord, or better yet have the campground man look at it for you if you don't have a test light or volt meter.
__________________
puttin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 03:00 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
I've tested the power at the pedestal and 240volts are available. I've reset all the breakers and tested the power at the main panel and all seems okay. But my power manager panel still has only 30 amp service available.
Beachjumper
__________________
Beachjumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:36 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
Did you just check each hot line for 120v, or did you check the voltage between the hot lines (240v)?
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 05:32 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
dons2346's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4,477
What brand of coach? Are you looking at the control panel for your inverter and seeing the 30 amp? Where are you getting the info about only accepting 30 amps?
__________________
dons2346 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:22 PM   #7
doc
Senior Member
 
doc's Avatar
 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dixie !! (north Georgia) USA
Posts: 2,953
Do have a 50 amp coach?
__________________
doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:32 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
May be totally irrelavent, on my older 30A EMS system, there is a button to manually tell the system you are on 20a instead of 30a. Perhaps you have one for 30a vs 50a?
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:35 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Alan_Hepburn's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: San Jose, Ca, USA
Posts: 1,045
The power management system looks for 240V across L1 and L2 - if it doesn't see 240V it assumes you've only got a single 120V line available. If you have 240V across L1 and L2 at the pedestal, then you're losing one side somewhere between the pedestal and the sensor. If you measured 120V between L1 and neutral, and then between L2 and neutral, you might have 0V between L1 and L2 - the campground has miswired the pedestal, connecting both L1 and L2 to the same phase.
__________________
Alan Hepburn - San Jose, Ca
2007 Bounder 35E being pushed by a 2008 smart fortwo Passion
Good Sam Member #566004 * FMCA Member #F431612
Alan_Hepburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:57 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
rsha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palacios, Tx
Posts: 173
The CG may not be wire for a true 50 amp 220V plug. May be wire for a single 120V over both sides. Check to see if you have 220V at the pedestal between L1 and L2.
__________________
40' HR Navigator
rsha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 07:25 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsha View Post
The CG may not be wire for a true 50 amp 220V plug. May be wire for a single 120V over both sides. Check to see if you have 220V at the pedestal between L1 and L2.
OP says he has checked that.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 08:06 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
rsha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palacios, Tx
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
OP says he has checked that.
He said: I've tested the power at the pedestal and 240volts are available

Does that mean between between L1 and L2 or L1 or L2 to neutral or ground?

It is hard to give advice without exact information.

The most likely cause to a problem like this is the CG plug. Not the MH.
__________________
40' HR Navigator
rsha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 06:24 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NAS Pensacola, FL
Posts: 329
If the OP is getting 240VAC L1 to L2 (240VAC L1 or L2 to Neutral/Ground would be a BIG problem) he should run the generator to see if the problem is goes away. If the problems goes away, then that means that a problem is within the ATs in the shore power position or the shore power cable. If the problem remains, the OP should check for 240VAC at the distribution panel. My guess is that something is amiss with the power management system. JM2˘...
__________________
Ted Fulltiming in the DreamCatcher a
2008 Challenger 371PE on F53 w/ 2010 Cobalt
R'V there yet?
teddyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 03:29 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
I downloaded a troubleshooting manual and found the problem. It seems the control board has a serious flaw and will have to be replaced. In the mean time I will just have to be satisfied with 30 amp power. Thanks to all for your help and advice. Have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Beachjumper
__________________

__________________
Beachjumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.