Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-27-2013, 08:36 AM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
Shore Power help please

We have 98 Winnebago Adventurer and are having some confusion issues with the shore power connections.

There are 2 power cords. One has a standard duplex plug end on it that is hardwired to breaker box. On this box there are 2 breakers and a metal toggle switch that has sticker on one side as "generator" on the other "shore power.

Also a 30 amp cord that goes into converter.

Can someone please explain the PROPER way to set this up if we are setting in the driveway and want to connect to keep batteries charged.

Thanks so much and have a great day.

check4pulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-27-2013, 11:04 AM   #2
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 261
Shore power

Your description indicates that someone has added a 15/20 amp power cord. The 30 amp cord handles most of the coach. The 15/20 probably handles a single heavy load which could possibly be an air conditioner or microwave.

If this is true, plug in the 30 amp cord, and plug in the 15/20 amp cord in to the posts 20 amp duplex outlet. If the post has a 50 amp outlet, the 30 amp outlet should be wired to one leg of the 50 amp and the 15/20 should be wired to the other 50 amp leg. If they are both on the same leg there still should not be a problem because 30 amps plus 20 amps is still just 50 amps.

mrboyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 11:09 AM   #3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 86
Send a message via Yahoo to Pianotuna

Use the 30 amp cord.
Regards, Don
Full Time in a Kustom Koach Class C 28'5", 256 watts Unisolar, 875 amp hours in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, Magnum 3000 watt PSW inverter.
Pianotuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 12:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,282
test it...

Plug only one cord into power and make note of what operates.

Use a voltmeter, test plug or anything handy that you can plug in to test the outlet.

I suspect extra cord powers one roof AC.

may be a switch to switch from generator to cord.

Many 30 AMP MH that have more than one AC have a switch to select which one to use on shore power as 30 AMP too small for both, but generator can operate both.

Many have added the cord but the switch may or may not be correct after modification.

Simple plug in and see what works, then decide if it is safe and go from there, folks here will help as you go, just be clear on what you post and ask.

Good luck!
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 08:22 PM   #5
Senior Member
Retired and Happy's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stone Mountain, GA
Posts: 917
I added a separate cord for the rear A/C. I never installed a switch, but can move the plug on the Cord from the A/C to other outlets labeled Pulse-Air, Generator, or an exrension cord that goes to Shore Power. Now I just have to remember from trip to trip what is plugged where. At home i have a 30A outlet, so I use the Pulse-Air which alternates the front and rear A/C on a 7 minute/5 minute cycle.
Ken, Judy, and the Angels--2005 Fleetwood Southwind--2008 Cargo Trailer--2003 EZGO Golf Cart
Retired and Happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 09:07 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar

Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 16,446
Almost surely it is as mrboyer describes. The second (15/20 amp) cord will most likley be for the rear a/c, allowing you to run both front and rear a/c at the same time when you have both a 30A and 15 amp outlet available.

Gary Brinck
2004 American Tradition; 2014 Buick LaCRosse
Homebase in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Gary RVRoamer is online now   Reply With Quote


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.