Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2014, 07:05 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 9
Shore Power vs Battery Power

2002 Class C Gulf Stream Ultra: No electrical works (lights, plugs, refrigerator, etc.) when the coach battery has been removed, even though the RV is plugged into shore power. Is this correct?
__________________

__________________
Judy Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-25-2014, 07:12 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
It's quite likely in some cases where the converter needs to have a battery connected to provide 12 VDC to the RV.

With my coach I can have all four of my 6 VDC batteries removed and still have 12 VDC going to the coach systems.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________

__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 07:14 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
First, you must realize the difference in 12V and 120V power.

Many things use 12V power just to run circuit boards (refr, water heater, furnace, a/c thermostat, lights, etc.).

Now, your converter should be using 120V power to create 12V power, regardless of batteries or not.

What might be throwing it off is the fact that the battery wires must all be connected.
__________________
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 07:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Sweetbriar's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,637
If your AC to DC convertor is working most low amp demanding (lights, fridge, water pump) stuff should work. The convertor should have either a fuse or DC circuit breaker associated to the output so check there first.
__________________
Sweetbriar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 09:45 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,066
Most newer converter/chargers work fine without a battery connected (some old Magnetecs did not), so I suspect something may be wrong. Make sure the battery cables are touching each other or the chassis, and that you didn't blow any fuses on the charger when the batteries were disconnected. Either one would cause a converter shutdown and no 12v power anywhere. And loss of 12v stops many applainces from working as well, even when in their 120v (shore power) mode.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 07:12 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,066
There is a serious typo error above: Make sure the battery cables are NOT touching each other or the chassis.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 06:28 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
sniggles's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judy Z View Post
2002 Class C Gulf Stream Ultra: No electrical works (lights, plugs, refrigerator, etc.) when the coach battery has been removed, even though the RV is plugged into shore power. Is this correct?

From experience, if the power plugs etc. doesn't work when plug into shoreline. First thing to check is make sure you 120v breakers are on. Our breaker box is Behind a hidden under the refrigerator but your maybe somewhere else. Some times they will flip just like in house. We have a voltage meter that plug in an electrical sock. And our RV has a master switch that we flip to off when we are plugged into shoreline for a long period of time. This also prevents someone trying to start to RV. But never disconnected the batteries as the batteries charge while plugged into shoreline.
__________________
Sniggles
2 old folks, 3 little dogs
2015 Jayco Whitehawk 24RBS, 2013 F-150
sniggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 08:38 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
mgscott4's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO./Pollock, LA.
Posts: 1,549
I would worry more if I did not have (lights, plugs, refrigerator, etc.) with the coach battery installed.
__________________
06 Hurricane 34FT WH W20 Chassis 8.1L 132K, Steersafe, Koni Shocks, DIY Trac Bar, Tri-Metric 2025RV Battery Monitor, 4-6V Batteries, Scan Gauge 2, Crossfires, 735W Solar Morningstar MPPT-60, WG T4 In-Motion Sat, XM Radio, 07 Chevy Malibu Maxx Toad, Falcon 2, Brake Buddy, Escapee
mgscott4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 08:44 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,404
Some converters need the battery installed to use as a "sink" to even out the power. One of our old TT's was that way but that was back in the 80's too.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, power, shore power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Large power draw on chassis battery '94 Kountry Star omegacanuck Newmar Owner's Forum 54 01-31-2016 09:22 PM
30 Amp But No 50 Amp Shore Power fixn2gocamp RV Systems & Appliances 27 10-03-2014 05:48 AM
No shore power Papa Cowboy Entegra Owner's Forum 11 06-28-2014 09:31 PM
Can we use shore power and inverter together? MariannRobin Newmar Owner's Forum 17 04-09-2014 06:15 PM
Chassis battery not being charged on shore power RetiredBob Newmar Owner's Forum 7 02-07-2014 01:11 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.