Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-13-2018, 06:22 AM   #1

Still a bit confused about winterizing camper.

Greetings. I posted a couple of weeks back asking for comments regarding advice on winterizing techniques that experienced co-workers (I am a travelling contractor and RV novice) had given me and got some great input. Thanks to all that responded to my inquiry and others. You folks are very much appreciated.

I have never used my pressuring water system. I have been on city water since purchasing my 5'er back in March of this year. I am curious what advantages exist by adding AF via the pressurized system as compared to simply draining the lines via the low point drains and then just pouring some AF down the drain lines for the sinks and shower and the black tank.

I have an external water filter that will need drained, and my water heater does not have an isolation valve at the tank itself, it has a check valve installed on the outlet line. There is an isolation valve as part of a manifold in what I call my "water bay". The entire manifold has a complex array of valves and water lines running every direction. I realize that this array is likely less complex than it looks to me, but I am just trying to keep the winterizing process simple while also trying to avoid a mistake.

Thanks for any advice.
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!