Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-05-2016, 07:52 PM   #1

Surge Guard Model #34750

First, keep in mind that I've been using a Surge Guard Model #34750 for a few years. Now, last October I had an electrical fire in my trailer. Everything AC was fried and replaced. Probable cause was listed as the converter, but it also was fried, so no definitive proof was available. Early April we had another electrical fire. Because this one happen as setup was being completed, (first fire was during the middle of the night) power was cut sooner and only the microwave, vacuum cleaner, WII and XBox were affected. The 2nd repair facility is blaming both incidents on the Surge Guard, again no definitive proof. This, despite the fact that the unit functions perfectly and even shut down during a low voltage issue situation where we spent the winter and returned service after the 128 second delay.

Has anyone else out in RV Land had an issue with their Surge Guard or had an electrical issue while using one? The insurance company is using half the repair facilities recommendations, which is costing me more money.

Also, I'd be interested in any thoughts about whether a surge protector failure would be considered an electrical failure or an electrical mechanical failure?

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!