Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 02-19-2014, 12:58 PM   #15

Newmar Owners Club
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky_Boss View Post
Personally, I am not a huge proponent of making Comfort Drive a major issue in the tag axle MH comparison. It is nice but I don't think it should be an excessively weighted point in the Newmar vs Entegra comparisons. According to the Newmar sales guy, both FL and Spartan have picked up an exclusive agreement with Newmar for CD that will expire in May of either 2014 or 2015 but I don't remember which. After that point, we will see if CD systems will become more widespread...assuming another agreement isn't reached. BTW, in non-tag MHs, CD might be more important but for now, Entegra is exclusively tag axle oriented unless they have something up their sleeve that I haven't heard of.
Neither Spartan nor FL ever had an exclusive agreement with TRW for the Comfort Drive. Newmar did, and they had both Spartan and FL incorporate it into the chassis for Newmar. That exclusive has expired, and anyone can license Column Drive (the real name for the TRW product). Only Newmar (Comfort Drive) and Newell (EZ-Steer) currently do so.
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!