Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-31-2013, 10:50 PM   #1

Texas Process For First MH

Let me say as a newbie, I have learned a HUGE amount from these forums...and we don't even own a MH.....YET. We are picking up our 2013 Allegro 36 LA on April 19 in Tennessee and driving it home to Houston.
After reading some threads, visiting Texas DPS licensing stations, etc., here are some questions I have:
1. Do I need a special drivers license in Texas. DPS says Yes, but their manual says only if GVW is 26,001 or more. The 36 LA is on a 24,000 chasis.
2. For the inspection sticker, do I have to take it somewhere special or any state inspection outlet?
3. Since I am buying this in Tennessee (and paying sales tax there), what will I need when I go to license it in Texas and get the credit for the sales tax already paid?
4. I have narrowed the ERS to Coach-Net, thanks to the reviews of fellow posters.
5. Still looking for insurance as my Progressive agent cannot match the insurance company from the dealer where i bought the unit, even though my house and 3 cars are already with Progressive. However, I am extremely open to new insurance as I do not agree with the morals and principles of the owner of Progressive. Ideas are welcomed.
Again, thanks for allowing me to troll the threads....great advice.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!